Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: forwarding port, router issue.

  1. #1
    leonidas's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Paris
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,223

    Surprised/Amazed

    first, I unfortunately know very very little about networks, and stuff like that,

    In order to get high ID in emule I would like to forward the concerned ports, but when I get this screen,in my rooter's configuration interface, I don't know what do each field correspond to, and were I can find the information..

    thanks in advance for your knowledge.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by leonidas; 03-25-2005 at 04:17 PM.

  2. File Sharing   -   #2
    McrslV's Avatar Hammer Smashed Face
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    who me?
    Age
    45
    Posts
    1,650
    well, the starting port is the first port in the range for emule, and the ending port is the last (check emules options to see what ports it uses)...................lemme ask this, what kind of router do you have and what is high ID? and someone else may know if emule is a udp or tcp. I would say its tcp, but i dont use emule.
    Last edited by McrslV; 03-26-2005 at 03:37 AM.

  3. File Sharing   -   #3
    leonidas's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Paris
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,223
    thanks it worked

  4. File Sharing   -   #4
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,631
    Have I been here before?



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  5. File Sharing   -   #5
    Mr JP Fugley's Avatar Frog Shoulder BT Rep: +4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    9,747
    Quote Originally Posted by Skizo
    Have I been here before?
    You've been somewhere similar.
    "there is nothing misogynistic about anything, stop trippin.
    i type this way because im black and from nyc chill son "

  6. File Sharing   -   #6
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Quote Originally Posted by McrslV
    well, the starting port is the first port in the range for emule, and the ending port is the last (check emules options to see what ports it uses).
    That's ok if emule only uses one port. But mapping several public ports to one private port won't work unless the program supports it.

    Since programs like emule tell their peers which port(s) to use then if they use more than one port you have to map each port individually with the setup leonidas has shown.

    Some routers allow you to map (forward) a range of public ports to a range of private ports, which is a much more suitable situation for progs which use multiple ports.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •