Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: 2 os on one pc

  1. #1
    NeoTheOne's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,570
    Hey all

    I have a 160 gb hard drive and i want to insatll 2 os on it i am runnig win xp home and i want to insatll on the other one win xp pro how will i go about doing this

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    harrycary's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Omaha, Ne USA
    Posts
    1,078
    Just partition the hardrive and install the different O/S's on them.

    It truly is not rocket science

    But, being there is basically small differences between XP & XP Pro, it seems like a complete waste of time. I mean, for 98% of users out there, there is absolutely no need for WinXP Pro in a home environment.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Quote Originally Posted by harrycary
    there is absolutely no need for WinXP Pro in a home environment.
    That's why we all need the pro (corp).

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    RPerry's Avatar Synergy BT Rep: Bad Rep
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Charlotte, North Carolina
    Age
    43
    Posts
    3,360
    Quote Originally Posted by Virtualbody1234
    That's why we all need the pro (corp).
    My thinking exactly.


    on topic, you were given the correct answer, all you have to do is partition the drive

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    I wouldn't bother at all if you still want home, as has previously been stated the difference between home and pro isn't big, and you probably won't even notice it when gaming.

    Still, if it was me, I'd do away with xp home altogether and install pro instead.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Why not try Winxp/Linux ,for fun ? Learn a new o/s at the same time . Or xp /win98se. just for the hell of it. When you partion you may have to set up in FAT not NTFS .

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    Assuming he has home installed on c: he'll need to format and reinstall to use win98, unless he can find a disc where that's been sorted, 'cos win98 needs to be on c:, at the beginning of the disc.

    But linux is cool.

    One way of setting it up would be an initial NTFS partition at about ten gigs, where he can install xp, one FAT32 partition taking up the rest of the space, save the last ten gigs, and then lastly, to install mandrake or SuSe (noob-friendly distros) on the last ten gigs, letting suse/mandy set up their own partitions on the available space.

    That way grub/lilo installs on top of the windows boot, and he's got a large partition he can install both linux and windows software on. And he doesn't have to go looking for an additional boot-manager either.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    I'd try linux.

    The setup of it is very simple, it does all the partitioning for you (but you can do it manually if u wish).

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    NeoTheOne's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,570
    yea i want to try linux but i had a bad expiernece with it i messed up my OS before lol. BTw can i run 3 OS lol i want Xp pro for Asp.net and stuff and if anyone has a REAL GOOD guide on installing LinuX SAfely then yea id probloly will but is it possible to have 3 OS

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    uNz[i]'s Avatar Out of order
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    2,259
    Yes. I've heard of a PC running 7 OS's.

    It wasn't stable, but stability wasn't the aim.
    The aim was to see how many OS's could work on a single box before it lost the plot.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •