Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 100% CPU when playing music.

  1. #1
    worldpease's Avatar always annoying
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Tj Mexico
    Posts
    1,430
    A few weeks ago I upgraded to 640MB RAM, and sudently I could do anything on the PC,
    but lately, whenever I play music, either in MediaPlayer or Winamp, the computer gets very slow, and when I check the CPU usage on the "windows task manager", it says 100% CPU usage, and some times it even gets stuck...
    Is there any setting I could modify, anything?

    My system specs:

    Intel Celeron D. 2.5 GHz
    640MB RAM
    HD 80GB
    Windows XP Pro
    Winamp

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    driver problem? tried reinstalling or updating them?

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    enoughfakefiles's Avatar Ad ministrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    I'm an Even Steven with a
    Posts
    10,491
    Don`t the visuals suck a load of your CPU in media player.Try turning them off.???

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    worldpease's Avatar always annoying
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Tj Mexico
    Posts
    1,430
    Quote Originally Posted by rossco
    driver problem? tried reinstalling or updating them?
    The driver thing seems to have worked!,
    I just de- and re-installed the drivers and now it seems to be fine, I'll keep testing.

    and "enoughfakefiles": Im using winamp, but about the visuals on Media Player,
    you're right, they take a heavy toll on speed and memory,
    and they aren't even atractive, exept the new one with the bars.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    worldpease's Avatar always annoying
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Tj Mexico
    Posts
    1,430
    crap, still the same problem.
    So far, I've only manage to isolate somethin: that when I use "Real Player" (that I dld for a moment necesity), the CPU Usage is almos non existing, meaning very low, so I can work without truble on my PC, but as soon as I use WinAmp, it starts again.
    I also went to the Control Panel's 'Sound and Audio Devices', 'Audio Tab', 'Advance button on Sound Playback', then 'Performance tab', and once there, I reduced the "Hardware Acceleration", but as soon as I start playing something, it goes to maximum again.
    By the way, on "Default Device", it says 'Realtek AC97 Audio'.

    The one thing Im planing on trying next is, re-instal Windos Media Player, may be it will re-set something... but thats just me.

    Any sugestions so far?, anything?
    *except trowing my PC to the garbage or something of the sort. .

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    DarthInsinuate's Avatar Died in battle
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    5,001
    could it be a codec problem? do you only play mp3?
    The Sexay Half Of ABBA And Max: Freelance Plants

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    uhmmmmm...........
    if winamp is sucking all the CPU, why reinstall WMP?
    sounds like a software issue to me, like, winamp sux
    that would be like all the ppl who've had trouble with soulseek reinstalling BT to fix it

    -edit- oops i see that it was in WMP too, srry
    Last edited by FKDUP74; 04-16-2005 at 02:07 PM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •