Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: meh. 'nother celeron repair :(

  1. #1
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    why can't some douchebag with more money than brains....
    bring me an AMD64 to play with?
    it's always an old celeron, p1 or p3
    as a matter of fact, don't think I've ever worked on another AMD system besides mine
    hmmmm.....maybe AMD owners are just smarter? could there be statistics proving this?

    anyhoot, the system/ppl in need this time....
    played a game online and teh pc froze
    instead of doing a power off with the button...
    they unplugged it from teh wall, and it was fux0red after that
    they say the pc wont even power on
    it powered on for me

    this is gonna be fun.......

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    GepperRankins's Avatar we want your oil!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    the suburbs. honestment
    Age
    31
    Posts
    21,102
    wouldn't a douchbag with more money than brains bring a pentium. if you know what i mean :

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    Quote Originally Posted by GepperRankins
    wouldn't a douchbag with more money than brains bring a pentium. if you know what i mean :
    good point
    hmmm.....just checked the monitor too, it powers on fine
    now as soon as I can go grab another power cord...
    I can try em out together (the monitor wasnt delivered with teh power cord)
    possible cause of this alleged crash? forgetting to plug in/power up the monitor?
    either that or they shot a surge through it and fried the onboard video,
    and this mobo has no AGP slot ....
    and the cheapest 478 mobo I can find locally is 'bout 100 bucks

    but of course they could go PCI gfx if needed
    Last edited by FKDUP74; 04-19-2005 at 11:15 PM.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    GepperRankins's Avatar we want your oil!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    the suburbs. honestment
    Age
    31
    Posts
    21,102
    it probably just tripped out for two minutes and they were scared to check after a few more minutes. i know thats scared me a few times

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Chewie's Avatar Chew E. Bakke
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,883
    Quote Originally Posted by FKDUP74
    ...played a game online and teh pc froze
    instead of doing a power off with the button...
    they unplugged it from teh wall...
    Entirely rational act, seeing as instruction leaflets often omit the part where you need to hold in the power button for 4 seconds to instantly power off.
    There isn't a bargepole long enough for me to work on [a Sony Viao] - clocker 2008

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    I wonder what online game they were playing with a celeron and onboard video. Java poker perhaps?

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    Quote Originally Posted by Chewie UK
    Entirely rational act, seeing as instruction leaflets often omit the part where you need to hold in the power button for 4 seconds to instantly power off.
    ummm...that info was included with my old compaq,
    and HP really sux at givin instructions in case of emergency

    anyway.....update....'twas a fried Celeron D
    ffs, I put my old athlon xp 2400 through hell and it's still runnin
    and a celeron fries from unpluggin the power cord?
    can't be, I think this lady omitted some info when she brought teh pc

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Chewie's Avatar Chew E. Bakke
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,883
    Quote Originally Posted by FKDUP74
    anyway.....update....'twas a fried Celeron D
    ffs, I put my old athlon xp 2400 through hell and it's still runnin
    and a celeron fries from unpluggin the power cord?
    can't be, I think this lady omitted some info when she brought teh pc
    Unplugging the power cord should do no damage at all. Perhaps a faulty PSU could damage the processor but I don't believe the sudden withdrawal of electricity supply could ever do damage to solid state circuitry.
    There isn't a bargepole long enough for me to work on [a Sony Viao] - clocker 2008

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Jon L. Obscene's Avatar Canadain potatoes!!!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Port Dover
    Age
    40
    Posts
    4,767
    Quote Originally Posted by FKDUP74
    hmmmm.....maybe AMD owners are just smarter? could there be statistics proving this?
    I'm an AMD user..

    So with that in mind it kinda dissproves your theory of amd users being smart

    Jonno

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Quote Originally Posted by Chewie UK
    Entirely rational act, seeing as instruction leaflets often omit the part where you need to hold in the power button for 4 seconds to instantly power off.
    Yup exactly.
    I never knew about holding teh button in for 4 seconds when i first got my old computer. whenever it froze i'd just unplug it.

    Then one time at radioshack i was looking at computers there and noticed one of them said hold power button for 4 seconds to shut off. i tried that on mine and it worked.
    wish hp told me that tho.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •