Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Interesting phenomonon

  1. #1
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Yesterday morning I got a call from a neighbor with a problem.
    Her PC was hard-locking at the user log-in screen.
    Fortunately, she had no critical data to speak of, so, using her system restore discs ( this is an eMachine, BTW), we were up and running in no time.

    Two hours later, she calls back.
    "My screen is upside down!"
    "Huh? What were you doing?"

    Turns out, she had adjusted the screen resolution and after applying the settings (which took, incidentally) the display was flipped over.

    I could find no settings which would explain this ( and it's HARD to work with a reversed display and a wired mouse...try it) nor could I get it to go back.
    So I uninstalled the display adaptor and rebooted.
    Back to normal.
    XP detected and installed the display adaptor, asked to reboot and you guessed it...upside down again!
    Repeat process, but this time it rebooted to normal and seems to be willing to stay that way.

    She thinks I fixed it, but really, I haven't any idea what is going on.

    Anyone have an explanation?
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    wow that is really wierd lol..i can imagine how hard that would be...but a fun challenge
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Cool. What display adaptor is in that sysytem?

    You could always flip the monitor upside down too.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Vargas's Avatar gone fishin'
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    the poopdeck
    Posts
    1,937
    i had something like that, a friends mother set her resolution to a setting her monitor couldn't handle, and everything was black
    i had to boot to safe mode, and reset her screen resolution to 800x600

    i also removed the systray icon for adjusting screen rersolution so she would have a harder time messing it up in future

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Quote Originally Posted by Virtualbody1234
    Cool. What display adaptor is in that sysytem?

    You could always flip the monitor upside down too.
    Believe me, I considered it.

    It's an Intel system with on-board video.
    She had adjusted the rez from 1024x768 ( which seemed to be the system default) down to 800x600 ( which was the lowest available setting in display properties).

    I can't see how that would explain it though.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Quote Originally Posted by bigdawgfoxx
    wow that is really wierd lol..i can imagine how hard that would be...but a fun challenge
    I don't really want an interesting challenge on my day off.
    If I do any PC work I'd prefer to tinker with Sprocket, not grub around on some POS machine of my neighbor's.

    Oh yes, it's tough being the local "expert".
    If they only knew...
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    kazaa2002's Avatar lost
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    near oz
    Posts
    234
    Quote Originally Posted by clocker
    Believe me, I considered it.

    It's an Intel system with on-board video.
    She had adjusted the rez from 1024x768 ( which seemed to be the system default) down to 800x600 ( which was the lowest available setting in display properties).

    I can't see how that would explain it though.
    clocker, this doesn't work for all, but on certain machines (not sprocket of course)
    To reverse the upside down screen mode, press ctrl, alt and the up arrow (arrows console) at the same time; the screen will probably go blank. Turn off the monitor, turn it on again and the display will be normal again. If you possess a sense of humour or are antisocial, press ctrl, alt and the down arrow simultaneously, turn off the monitor, turn it on again and everyone (will be desperate --> upside down! Works for Windows XP Home and Prof.
    more on this http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;EN-US;826480

    it is the small things that usually drive us mad

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    I think I have that option with my nvidia drivers.


    Yep, checked, I can rotate the image 180 degrees, under screen orientation, or whatever the correct translation would be.

    I can also make it mirrored, or rotate it 90 degrees.

    Maybe I have the option courtesy of the forceware coolbits patch, but that just unlocks option that are already there, so she prolly managed to activate something similar somehow.

    īt would really make sense if it was a geforce chip she had on her board, but if one manufacturer has it then more will prolly have it as well.

    If it is a geforce chip then get the latest drivers and the patch (it's really just a reg-tweak though), if you still don't have the option with the plain unmodified drivers.


    Coolbits .reg file (only for nvidia)

    I assume you know where to get the drivers.
    Last edited by Snee; 04-25-2005 at 03:39 PM.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    Quote Originally Posted by SnnY
    I think I have that option with my nvidia drivers.
    yeah, the catalyst drivers for ATi can do that too
    (dont know why anyone would wanna, but....)

    maybe she needs a driver update clocker?

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Quote Originally Posted by FKDUP74
    yeah, the catalyst drivers for ATi can do that too
    (dont know why anyone would wanna, but....)

    maybe she needs a driver update clocker?


    If your bed ridden mabye . Did the old rotate with my 9700 pro , took 10 minuets to get it back .

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •