Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: f*cking firefox.....

  1. #1
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    grrrrrrr

    FF is bieng gay this morning....gimme another browser to try out

    problem is....I think I've tried em all
    avant, slimbrowser, maxthon.....all IE based and suck
    what's left out there? netscape?
    opera has ad bars, so fuck them
    havent run the regular flavor of mozilla under windows, how's that one?
    (I used it in Linux for a while, seemed nice)

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    DarthInsinuate's Avatar Died in battle
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    5,001
    you shouldn't just give up on a browser because it tells you it's gay one morning, it can lead to deep psychological problems in future life
    The Sexay Half Of ABBA And Max: Freelance Plants

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    uNz[i]'s Avatar Out of order
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    2,259
    Mozilla suite (bloated) or Amaya (ooooold). Theres the Lynx browser too, but that's strictly text only browsing.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    Quote Originally Posted by DarthInsinuate
    you shouldn't just give up on a browser because it tells you it's gay one morning, it can lead to deep psychological problems in future life
    lmfao
    is there some kind of sexual identity crisis counselling for web browsers?
    mine may need it.....

    @uNz[i] - yeah I just searched a little on mozilla, just a suite offered for win platform

    meh. maybe I just had some shit goin that was making FF eat cpu
    or my puter just dont like teh 1.0.3 build
    firefox has been pretty much teh pwnage so far
    and its settled down after restarting it

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    DarthInsinuate's Avatar Died in battle
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Arkham Asylum
    Posts
    5,001
    some javascripts used to make the CPU load shoot through the roof, for example that damn Xmas falling snow, i'm not sure if it still does it in the latest versions
    The Sexay Half Of ABBA And Max: Freelance Plants

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Vargas's Avatar gone fishin'
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    the poopdeck
    Posts
    1,937
    earlier versions of firefox (Phoenix/FireBird) might be to your liking
    Phoenix 0.1
    Phoenix 0.3
    FireBird 0.7
    Firefox 0.9.3
    those 4 versions were pretty good

    i still use mozilla 1.0.2 as my default browser (i did switch to the latest Thunderbird for email though)

    or you might give Opera v8 a try. some people love it, some hate it

    EDIT: What OS are you running?
    Last edited by Vargas; 04-27-2005 at 02:55 PM.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    uNz[i]'s Avatar Out of order
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    2,259
    How long did you have FF running before you restarted it FKDUP?

    I have seen discussions somewhere (Neowin? Mozillazine? can't say for sure now) about how FF has always had some sort of leak that chews up system resources if you don't restart it at least once a day... or less, preferably.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    @ Vargas - XP Pro, of course
    (and ty for teh linkage, I might just try out opera, why not?)

    @ uNz[i] - I always close my browser when I'm done,
    no need to leave it running 24/7
    have never had this kinda fit from FF before

    I am posting this from IE now, I'm pissed about that

    FF was fine after restarting it, then after a while it shot up in CPU usage again

    gonna go through the usual scans, but doubt that anything'll come up
    maybe try a reinstall of firefox

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    hmmmm...trying out Opera, seems nice
    the ad banner isnt shit, takes up the sapce of a toolbar
    I am sure there are ways around it if it gets under my skin

    hasnt ate up any CPUs yet, but teh RAM usage is ridiculous

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    Quote Originally Posted by FKDUP74
    hmmmm...trying out Opera, seems nice
    the ad banner isnt shit, takes up the sapce of a toolbar
    I am sure there are ways around it if it gets under my skin
    You could always pay to remove it.





    ahahahahahahaha

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •