Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: ntoskrnl.exe corrupt

  1. #1
    thecreator89's Avatar EFFYOUsion, biotch
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Fusionsong 0331
    Posts
    185
    Running Win 2000
    The above mentioned file is corrupt or missing
    How would I reinstall this-- Even the recovery console cannot start windows 2000, and I don't have a CLUE as to how I would reinstall this

    Any help?

    thanks
    <<<FIRE>>><<<FOR>>><<<EFFECT>>>
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ Dual Core
    ASUS A8N5X Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4
    Corsair 2x512MB PC3200
    XFX Nvidia 7600GT 256MB
    Creative Labs Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
    Samsung 940b-19" 8ms 700:1


  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    zedaxax's Avatar ___________
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    926
    Where is ntoskrnl.exe kept in Win 2000?

    what i would do is
    get a clean copy of ntoskrnl.exe from another pc or from the install disc - put it on a floppy or install cd etc
    in xp it is kept in C:/windows/system32
    (on the xp install disc it is located in servicepackfiles\i386
    so then
    1. Boot to Recovery Console.(dos mode)

    2 . type the following commands
    cd system32 [enter]

    ren ntoskrnl.exe ntoskrnl.old

    3.
    cd.. [enter]
    cd servicepackfiles\i386 [enter]
    copy NTOSKRNL.exe c:\windows\system32

    if not there, expand from the cd

    4. Type EXIT and hit enter

    ------------------------
    if it fits on a floppy then it is
    3. a:/ (enter)
    copy NTOSKRNL.exe c:\windows\system32

    if simply on a cdrom (alone)
    3.cd.. [enter]
    copy NTOSKRNL.exe c:\windows\system32



    You must first find the exact path to where mtoskrnl.exe is kept in Win2000 - and change the path so it fits accordingly
    goodluck

    edit: oooops just read you cant get into recovery console - arent there any boot/startup discs to get there - its been along time for me since 2000 cant remember
    Last edited by zedaxax; 04-29-2005 at 11:38 PM.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    thecreator89's Avatar EFFYOUsion, biotch
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Fusionsong 0331
    Posts
    185
    I was just looking
    I HAVe to reformat
    No choice
    So How would I get to the DOS prompt?
    <<<FIRE>>><<<FOR>>><<<EFFECT>>>
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ Dual Core
    ASUS A8N5X Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4
    Corsair 2x512MB PC3200
    XFX Nvidia 7600GT 256MB
    Creative Labs Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
    Samsung 940b-19" 8ms 700:1


  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Quote Originally Posted by thecreator89
    I was just looking
    I HAVe to reformat
    No choice
    So How would I get to the DOS prompt?
    why do you think you have to format?

    Try putting in the disc, restarting and making sure it boots from the cd, then choose to do a repair isntall.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    thecreator89's Avatar EFFYOUsion, biotch
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Fusionsong 0331
    Posts
    185
    YOu SERIOUSLY think I didn't try that?
    Trust Me
    I want to reformat, too, so don't act like I'm some thrd gradeer
    <<<FIRE>>><<<FOR>>><<<EFFECT>>>
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ Dual Core
    ASUS A8N5X Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4
    Corsair 2x512MB PC3200
    XFX Nvidia 7600GT 256MB
    Creative Labs Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
    Samsung 940b-19" 8ms 700:1


  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    ok, fine, you didn't tell us that before.
    And you don't need a dos pprompt to format, the windows 2000 installation has a format option built in.

    If you really want to use a dos promt you need to get hoold of a dos boot disc (windows 98/me startup disc).

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    kazaa2002's Avatar lost
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    near oz
    Posts
    234
    Quote Originally Posted by thecreator89
    Running Win 2000
    The above mentioned file is corrupt or missing
    How would I reinstall this-- Even the recovery console cannot start windows 2000, and I don't have a CLUE as to how I would reinstall this

    Any help?

    thanks
    perhap this article will help
    http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000646.htm

    it is the small things that usually drive us mad

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •