Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: DSL frequency

  1. #1
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    584
    Dear Sir,



    Are engineers have come back to inform us that the DSL frequencies are

    poor on the line which is causing the issue with you not being able to

    get speeds higher than 5.5mb on the line. Unfortunately the when BT

    run a line test they will only check the PSTN (voice) frequencies of

    the line and not the DSL. The engineer believes the cause of this is

    likely to the be the internal wiring. As from the notes I can see you

    have already tried going into the master socket with all other devices

    unplugged and also trying different filters. This is likely to be the

    best speed we will be able to get out of the line as problems with

    internal wiring are not something we can provide help with. This would

    need to be arranged with BT who will probely charge to get the wiring

    checked out.



    Kind Regards
    Does this sound like a reasonable excuse? I am supposed to be on 8MB and my line, until now, has been passed as very good and that it should support 8MB.

  2. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #2
    GepperRankins's Avatar we want your oil!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    the suburbs. honestment
    Age
    31
    Posts
    21,102
    sounds like it was typed by a 4 year old

  3. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #3
    Samurai's Avatar Usenet Fanboy
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4,532
    Quote Originally Posted by GepperRankins
    sounds like it was typed by a 4 year old
    indeed

  4. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #4
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    584
    It was sent by customer support, so probably was a 4-year-old.....but is what he is saying technically correct?

  5. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #5
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    I assume you've made a complaint about line speed although I suspect what you've actually seen is data speed, which is not the same thing.

    What speed is reported by the DSL connection data of your modem? If it is a USB modem the status icon in your system tray should tell you that. If it is connected to your pc via ethernet you will have to go into the modem setup menu to find that out.

    If the connection data shows a speed lower than 8 Mb (note - small b not big B, they are different) then the letter is probably correct. It is the actual amount of data transferred which costs them money, so it doesn't make sense for them to give you a lower speed if the line can handle it.

    On the other hand if it says 8 Mb (or 8xxx kb) then the physical line speed is what you've ordered and is what you are getting. You then need to look at things like the number of errors. If the errors are very low (single digits) there is no problem at the operating speed in which case the letter is probably bullshit, although there may have been errors when they tested the line. In this case any lower data speeds are likely to be caused by bottlenecks elsewhere, testing the line isn't going to get you anywhere.

    Edit: a 4 year old would have sorted the problem by now.
    Last edited by lynx; 05-01-2005 at 07:14 AM.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  6. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #6
    GepperRankins's Avatar we want your oil!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    the suburbs. honestment
    Age
    31
    Posts
    21,102
    i doubt it's internal wiring. unless internal wiring means distance from an exchange

  7. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #7
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    As from the notes I can see you have already tried going into the master socket with all other devices unplugged and also trying different filters.
    I'm pretty certain that rules out internal wiring, unless it cured the problem.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  8. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #8
    GepperRankins's Avatar we want your oil!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    the suburbs. honestment
    Age
    31
    Posts
    21,102
    wouldn't internal wiring short the connection and disable it completely

  9. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #9
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    584
    @ lynx, yes i do know the difference between MB and Mb though i get the the wrong way round occasionally.

    My router syncs at 5500 which is what they said (5.5) but it should be at 8000.

    Going to the master socket didn't cure the problem and @GepperRankins, i don't think they meant a problem as big as a short circuit, but (i assume) that it has noise on it, but I am not sure.

    I am really not sure what is wrong with my connection, i am 700m from my exchange and have good ratios (confirmed by the company), but now they claim DSL frequencies which to be honest, should have been checked with the tests they carried out when I ordered the service. I have been chasing up with them since it got connected and they even told me to report a line fault with BT, but the line was fine.

    I am not sure whether to be believe them or not

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •