Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: FF middle-click f00ked?

  1. #1
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    ok, I'm sure there may be an about:config edit for this....

    I used to be able to open new tabs by middle clicking the tab bar in FireFox
    now I can only close them

    anyone know wtf I need to change to get this feature back?

    plz & ty

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    uNz[i]'s Avatar Out of order
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    2,259
    This is what it says in my about:config
    browser.tabs.opentabfor.middleclick - default boolean true

    If that doesn't help, try one of the tab extensions. TabBrowser Preferences and Tab Mix are both quite good.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Quote Originally Posted by FKDUP74
    anyone know wtf I need to change to get this feature back?
    A mouse with a middle button?
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Retired
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    14,058
    Quote Originally Posted by lynx
    A mouse with a middle button?
    Scroll can also function as a button

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    thanks FKDUP74 learned something new about ff....

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Quote Originally Posted by lynx
    A mouse with a middle button?
    Yeah. What mouse do you have?

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Quote Originally Posted by Virtualbody1234
    Yeah. What mouse do you have?


    Must be an old one .I couldn't function with out the middle wheel , button .
    Last edited by peat moss; 05-14-2005 at 03:33 PM.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    Quote Originally Posted by uNz[i]
    This is what it says in my about:config
    browser.tabs.opentabfor.middleclick - default boolean true

    If that doesn't help, try one of the tab extensions. TabBrowser Preferences and Tab Mix are both quite good.
    thnx uNz[i], thats what I was lookin for
    but it's set to true

    -edit- screw it, I'll just drag the "new tab" button into the toolbar for now I guess
    Last edited by FKDUP74; 05-15-2005 at 12:23 AM.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    uNz[i]'s Avatar Out of order
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    2,259
    No probs bud.

    Not finished yet. Still got a couple of ideas...

    Set the value for browser.tabs.opentabfor.middleclick to false. Restart FF. Set it back to true. Restart FF again. Test middle click. Any better?
    Yes? cool, job done.
    No? Try using ctrl+t instead. If that doesn't work, then the only other thing I can suggest is to delete your FF profile and start from scratch.
    Last edited by uNz[i]; 05-15-2005 at 04:41 AM.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    Quote Originally Posted by uNz[i]
    No probs bud.

    Not finished yet. Still got a couple of ideas...

    Set the value for browser.tabs.opentabfor.middleclick to false. Restart FF. Set it back to true. Restart FF again. Test middle click. Any better?
    Yes? cool, job done.
    No? Try using ctrl+t instead. If that doesn't work, then the only other thing I can suggest is to delete your FF profile and start from scratch.
    thanks again uNz[i], but still no go
    setting/resetting the boolean doesnt do it,
    uninstalling/cleaning/reinstalling FF wont do it
    ctrl+T works, so does the toolbar button,
    so does middle-clicking on a bookmark or link
    just cant middle-click on the tab bar itself other than to close a tab

    I may just have to learn to live w/o it

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •