Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Intel p4 loophole

  1. #1
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Did n't know where to post ths at first ! L2 cache is a loophole for hacker's ?





    http://news.zdnet.com/Pentium+4+loop...&subj=technews

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Spicker's Avatar AKA jaigandhi5 BT Rep: +7BT Rep +7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,484
    could this possibly be the turning point when AMD comes in and takes out Pentium...

    Almost thought that pentium was owned by microsoft for a minute there

    My Blog
    I'm still here.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Ya funny read is n't it ? The security breach's are only starting, Amd included . No wonder Microsoft bought a security ,anti virus company. Might as well make some money on issues were all care about. But L2 cache ? Oh shit were in trouble .It will be something else next week tho right ?

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Darth Sushi's Avatar Sushi Lord
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Corisant
    Posts
    5,813
    I thought this only affects FreeBSD users?

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    Concievably, it could in time affect any OS that can make use of hyperthreading. I suppose it'd just be a matter of writing the proper trojan to take advantage of it.

    Which, btw, means that Win98 and good old DOS, for instance, are in the clear. Maybe the same is true if you simply don't have HT enabled using any other OS as well.

    Let's give them three big cheers for bringing it to everyone's attention so all the wee scriptkiddies can get going on it.

    Incidentally, this:
    It only works on a server that has already been compromised to allow a malicious hacker to install a spy process. If the hacker has already achieved this, there are many easier and quicker ways to steal data, Intel spokesman Howard High said.
    ...is probably a good point.
    Last edited by Snee; 05-17-2005 at 01:16 PM.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    the original article also states that this is only a threat for servers running hyperthreading .

    Q & A

    1. Do I need to worry about my home computer?

    Probably not. This security flaw is primarily a problem for servers.

    http://it.slashdot.org/article.pl?si...id=172&tid=118

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    All P4's should have a loophole.




    Then we can wear them round our necks like some sort of medallion. Best possible use for them.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    Quote Originally Posted by 4play
    the original article also states that this is only a threat for servers running hyperthreading .
    Right now it is, yes, but since not only servers use hyperthreading, and since hyperthreading is what is vulnerable, then, as I said, it could concievably work on any OS that uses Hyperthreading.

    But, as the man said, if you've already managed to insert something in there, why use this when there are so many easier ways of stealing information once you're in?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •