Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 41

Thread: Xbox Mod Chip

  1. #1
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    im thinking of getting my xbox chipped with the "xecuter 3 ce" chip.
    my box is either a 1.5 or 1.6 as its a special edition crystal.

    my main uses for chipping are to be using it as a media centre, xbmc,
    palying backup games of the hdd, and using it as storage for downloaded movies and tv series. and maybe a small linux install for surfing the net?

    since im using it for that ill be needing a bigger hard drive.
    the one im thinking of getting is this one, is the 16mb cache going to be noticeable, or will 8mb do.

    also how do i update the bios on the modchip, can that be done from the xbox, or do i need a bios flasher.

    should this be pretty easy to do?

  2. Games   -   #2
    Duffman's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,130
    The hard drive is fine. Flashing the chip the first time is a one shot deal I fucked up and had to buy the flasher, but It was my fault. And after that you just hit a button on the dashboard, select the bios, hit flash and restart, very easy.
    ...

  3. Games   -   #3
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    cool. so all of my above requirements should be met with no problem, surfing net etc.
    also how do you get files onto the box, just ftp?

  4. Games   -   #4
    99shassan's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    830
    ftp, or you could burn to cd and copy the files over. If your box is a 1.6 or 1.6b. check out the "Extend life expectancy of 1.6 board" on the xbox-scene forum. You will want to know about this.
    X3 chip is good, but most features aren't really needed but are cool.
    Changed SPAN settings in sig a YEAR after it was removed

  5. Games   -   #5
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    had a look, hope ive got a 1.5 box,
    is this whta the lpc rebuilder is for the 1.6 box? or is it seperate.

  6. Games   -   #6
    Duffman's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,130
    FTPing is easy, saves media, just get yourself a good ftp program, like FlashFXP, set your xbox ip to be 192.168.0.x and the password and user name are xbox/xbox. All easy. Only thing you have to look out for is that if you have xblive now, and you upgrade the harddrive they see the hd size change and ban your eeprom.
    ...

  7. Games   -   #7
    Duffman's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,130
    Also if you need some quick help, IM me Duffman81788 on AIM, or find duffman on irc.dal.net im there all the time.
    ...

  8. Games   -   #8
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    not going to use xbox live, may use xlink though,
    grude paying for the online service.

  9. Games   -   #9
    Duffman's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,130
    Yeah xblive is expensive and annoying, but at least on the xbox360 it will be free.
    ...

  10. Games   -   #10
    Spicker's Avatar AKA jaigandhi5 BT Rep: +7BT Rep +7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,484
    Softmodding can do all of the things you want to do...

    My Blog
    I'm still here.

Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •