Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: My flatpanel moniter is starting to flicker

  1. #1
    Wolfmight's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Location: Location:
    Posts
    5,873

    Unsure

    It's only a few months old and now it's starting to flicker. I already have it set on the highest hertz it can support, plus a good res of 1280x1024. I recently moved a cable box somewhat near it and I suppose that's what caused it. I moved it away and the monitor is still flickering.

    Any ways to solve this? Turn it off for a few hours?

    Update: This is strange, but when I change the refresh rate to 60Hz there is no flicker! I thought the higher, the better. Technically if 60Hz doesn't flicker, then 70Hz should looked even better...correct? Well, what the hell!?
    Last edited by Wolfmight; 05-25-2005 at 12:13 AM.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    Hmm, what size is ur LCD?

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Wolfmight's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Location: Location:
    Posts
    5,873
    19"

    I discovered for LCD Flatpanels like mine, your supposed to keep the refresh rate on defualt..which was 60Hz for mine. I see no difference between 60 and 70, except that 60 removes the flicker. The article explained how higher resolutions would cause problems such as flicker over time.

    Strange, but atleast it's working now

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Duffman's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,130
    my monitor flickers above 60, not a huge problem, set it to 60.
    ...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •