Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: More and more RAM being eaten..

  1. #1
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    Alright, when I first installed my OS, I was running at about 200MB of my page file, now, steadily, over the months, it has increased to 333MBs of page file. This is nuts, what is the point of having 512MB of RAM, when 333MB right from log-in is being eaten up! Hot Damn. Here is my Hijack-This! log.

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
    Scan saved at 9:41:28 AM, on 5/28/2005
    Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)
    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\LEXBCES.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccProxy.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSetMgr.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\CTsvcCDA.exe
    C:\Program Files\Intel\Intel Application Accelerator\iaantmon.exe
    C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\Norton AntiVirus\navapsvc.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SNDSrvc.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Security Center\SymWSC.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\wanmpsvc.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\dla\tfswctrl.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lexpps.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\explorer.exe
    C:\Program Files\AIM\aim.exe
    C:\Program Files\Winamp\winamp.exe
    C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    C:\Documents and Settings\Jimmy\Desktop\hijackthis\HijackThis.exe
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.dell4me.com/myway
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.dell4me.com/myway
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.dell4me.com/myway
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyServer = 67.123.152.83:8080
    O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {549B5CA7-4A86-11D7-A4DF-000874180BB3} - (no file)
    O2 - BHO: DriveLetterAccess - {5CA3D70E-1895-11CF-8E15-001234567890} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\dla\tfswshx.dll
    O2 - BHO: Web assistant - {9ECB9560-04F9-4bbc-943D-298DDF1699E1} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\AdBlocking\NISShExt.dll
    O2 - BHO: AcroIEToolbarHelper Class - {AE7CD045-E861-484f-8273-0445EE161910} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll
    O2 - BHO: NAV Helper - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
    O2 - BHO: TGTSoft Explorer Toolbar Changer - {C333CF63-767F-4831-94AC-E683D962C63C} - (no file)
    O2 - BHO: FlashFXP Helper for Internet Explorer - {E5A1691B-D188-4419-AD02-90002030B8EE} - C:\PROGRA~1\FlashFXP\IEFlash.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {FDD3B846-8D59-4ffb-8758-209B6AD74ACC} - (no file)
    O3 - Toolbar: Web assistant - {0B53EAC3-8D69-4b9e-9B19-A37C9A5676A7} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\AdBlocking\NISShExt.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: Adobe PDF - {47833539-D0C5-4125-9FA8-0819E2EAAC93} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccApp] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [URLLSTCK.exe] C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\UrlLstCk.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Symantec NetDriver Monitor] C:\PROGRA~1\SYMNET~1\SNDMon.exe /Consumer
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [dla] C:\WINDOWS\system32\dla\tfswctrl.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    O4 - Startup: Adobe Gamma.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Calibration\Adobe Gamma Loader.exe
    O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Restrictions present
    O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel present
    O6 - HKLM\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel present
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\j2re1.4.2_06\bin\npjpi142_06.dll
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\j2re1.4.2_06\bin\npjpi142_06.dll
    O9 - Extra button: Research - {92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~4\OFFICE11\REFIEBAR.DLL
    O9 - Extra button: AIM - {AC9E2541-2814-11d5-BC6D-00B0D0A1DE45} - C:\Program Files\AIM\aim.exe
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {CD67F990-D8E9-11d2-98FE-00C0F0318AFE} - (no file)
    O9 - Extra button: MUSICMATCH MX Web Player - {d81ca86b-ef63-42af-bee3-4502d9a03c2d} - http://wwws.musicmatch.com/mmz/openWebRadio.html (file missing)
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O16 - DPF: {1F2F4C9E-6F09-47BC-970D-3C54734667FE} (LSSupCtl Class) - http://www.symantec.com/techsupp/asa/LSSupCtl.cab
    O16 - DPF: {3A7FE611-1994-4EF1-A09F-99456752289D} - http://install.wildtangent.com/Activ...veLauncher.cab
    O16 - DPF: {6414512B-B978-451D-A0D8-FCFDF33E833C} (WUWebControl Class) - http://v5.windowsupdate.microsoft.co...?1097545580109
    O16 - DPF: {6FDB0065-2787-11D6-B1D8-0001023916FC} (CLOActiveXInstaller Control) - http://www.igl.net/clo/install/CLOAc...allerProj1.cab
    O16 - DPF: {B8BE5E93-A60C-4D26-A2DC-220313175592} (ZoneIntro Class) - http://zone.msn.com/binFramework/v10...o.cab34246.cab
    O16 - DPF: {CE28D5D2-60CF-4C7D-9FE8-0F47A3308078} (ActiveDataInfo Class) - http://www.symantec.com/techsupp/asa/SymAData.cab
    O16 - DPF: {E5D419D6-A846-4514-9FAD-97E826C84822} (HeartbeatCtl Class) - http://fdl.msn.com/zone/datafiles/heartbeat.cab
    O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{E3E49700-1DBD-43AE-B013-6F79D384B3E3}: NameServer = 4.2.2.3,4.2.2.4
    O20 - Winlogon Notify: WB - C:\PROGRA~1\Stardock\OBJECT~1\WINDOW~1\fastload.dll
    O23 - Service: Adobe LM Service - Adobe Systems - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe Systems Shared\Service\Adobelmsvc.exe
    O23 - Service: AOL Connectivity Service (AOL ACS) - America Online, Inc. - C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\AOL\ACS\acsd.exe
    O23 - Service: Ati HotKey Poller - ATI Technologies Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    O23 - Service: ATI Smart - Unknown owner - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ati2sgag.exe
    O23 - Service: Symantec Event Manager (ccEvtMgr) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
    O23 - Service: Symantec Network Proxy (ccProxy) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccProxy.exe
    O23 - Service: Symantec Password Validation (ccPwdSvc) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccPwdSvc.exe
    O23 - Service: Symantec Settings Manager (ccSetMgr) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSetMgr.exe
    O23 - Service: Creative Service for CDROM Access - Creative Technology Ltd - C:\WINDOWS\System32\CTsvcCDA.exe
    O23 - Service: Diskeeper - Executive Software International, Inc. - C:\Program Files\Executive Software\Diskeeper\DkService.exe
    O23 - Service: IAA Event Monitor (IAANTMon) - Intel Corporation - C:\Program Files\Intel\Intel Application Accelerator\iaantmon.exe
    O23 - Service: LexBce Server (LexBceS) - Lexmark International, Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\system32\LEXBCES.EXE
    O23 - Service: Macromedia Licensing Service - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Macromedia Shared\Service\Macromedia Licensing.exe
    O23 - Service: Norton AntiVirus Auto Protect Service (navapsvc) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\Norton AntiVirus\navapsvc.exe
    O23 - Service: SAVScan - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\Norton AntiVirus\SAVScan.exe
    O23 - Service: ScriptBlocking Service (SBService) - Symantec Corporation - C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\SYMANT~1\SCRIPT~1\SBServ.exe
    O23 - Service: Symantec Network Drivers Service (SNDSrvc) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SNDSrvc.exe
    O23 - Service: SymWMI Service (SymWSC) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Security Center\SymWSC.exe
    O23 - Service: TuneUp WinStyler Theme Service (TUWinStylerThemeSvc) - TuneUp Software GmbH - C:\Program Files\TuneUp Utilities 2004\WinStylerThemeSvc.exe
    O23 - Service: WAN Miniport (ATW) Service (WANMiniportService) - America Online, Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\wanmpsvc.exe
    I am running Windows Professional, Service Pack 2. P4, 3GHZ Processor.




    I am afraid to remove any of these entrees, and to keep any services from starting.
    Last edited by orcutt989; 05-28-2005 at 01:49 PM.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Money Fist's Avatar Che-Che get the yayo
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    London, England
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,014
    lol it could be that norton crap
    every day updates will pile up
    also consider all the windows updates as culprits

    other than that theory
    i dont know

    task manager will tell you basic info about what process is eating up how much RAM


    ADDED:disable from start up

    adobe gammer
    adobe gammer
    ATIPTA
    NeroFilterCheck
    Sunjava updates
    QuickTime task

    i have all these on my machine and i have them disabled
    computer works fine without a hitch
    Last edited by Money Fist; 05-28-2005 at 02:18 PM.


  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Oh without a dought...Norton just rapes your P.C I would go for Kaspersky myself very nice AV.
    Last edited by TFFTn; 05-28-2005 at 02:16 PM.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    Quote Originally Posted by TFFTn
    Oh without a dought...Norton just rapes your P.C I would go for Kaspersky myself very nice AV.
    Or maybe I could just use Symantec Corporate. People have told me that does not eat up much ram at all, but uses same definitions?

    Quote Originally Posted by Money Fist
    lol it could be that norton crap
    every day updates will pile up
    also consider all the windows updates as culprits

    other than that theory
    i dont know

    task manager will tell you basic info about what process is eating up how much RAM


    ADDED:disable from start up

    adobe gammer
    adobe gammer
    ATIPTA
    NeroFilterCheck
    Sunjava updates
    QuickTime task

    i have all these on my machine and i have them disabled
    computer works fine without a hitch
    I have them disabled already. Do you mean delete them from the list?
    Last edited by orcutt989; 05-29-2005 at 02:06 AM.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Chewie's Avatar Chew E. Bakke
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,883
    LOL
    I have a gig of RAM and my pagefile is 1535MB.
    Computer runs like a dream,
    There isn't a bargepole long enough for me to work on [a Sony Viao] - clocker 2008

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    RPerry's Avatar Synergy BT Rep: Bad Rep
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Charlotte, North Carolina
    Age
    43
    Posts
    3,360
    Quote Originally Posted by Chewie UK
    LOL
    I have a gig of RAM and my pagefile is 1535MB.
    Computer runs like a dream,
    we are happy for you, but how does that help Orcutt989 ?

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Money Fist's Avatar Che-Che get the yayo
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    London, England
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,014
    i have 1.3Gigs of RAM but i still dont like programs killing resouces
    so i do things like use 2000 rather than XP
    and optimize my start up programs and services in the tightest ways possible

    which bring me on to what i was gonna say to Orcutt989
    disabled is good enuff
    didnt u submit that log to the hijackthis web site because u have
    1 nasty thing running &
    5 unnecessarily things running
    Last edited by Money Fist; 05-29-2005 at 11:57 PM.


  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    kazaa2002's Avatar lost
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    near oz
    Posts
    234
    Orcutt989, your system,by default installation of xp professional
    takes installed Ram and creates 1.5 x that amount and that is called
    page file...it is ram based on your hard drive. They provide room for your
    programs and housekeeping duties. ON WINDOWS TASK MANAGER it should
    be taking up about 30%cp usage and 380 mb pf usage

    some suggestions: use 1) crap cleaner program
    (that may help) 2)defrag often
    3) if you have norton...use one click
    4) go to START BUTTON
    settings,control panel,system,advanced,performance(and then click on settings-advanced
    and click change (in the virtual memory panel
    change that 768 to 1536...this will help.

    for the long run perhaps a 2nd harddrive with a added page file is helpful

    here are some reference sites for further ideas
    adding ram is not always the answer...if you use your system for many things...some of our members replies are thru eyes of gamers
    your p4 3.0 seems to be for all around use and therefore my suggestion
    is for you ,to be changing the oil and tuning up quicker than most.
    Virtual Memory in Windows XP
    Beginner Tip: Every Byte Counts (Towards Page File Size)
    The Windows XP Page File

    I hope this has been a help

    it is the small things that usually drive us mad

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Chewie's Avatar Chew E. Bakke
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,883
    Quote Originally Posted by RPerry
    Quote Originally Posted by Chewie UK
    LOL
    I have a gig of RAM and my pagefile is 1535MB.
    Computer runs like a dream,
    we are happy for you, but how does that help Orcutt989 ?
    Hehehe. Dont'cha jus' lurv people that post in help forums without actually helping?

    Perhaps I'm saying that the size of his pagefile isn't too big, did you think of that? Forgive me if I didn't actually state that - I obviously over-estimate the intelligence in these forums, eh?

    Why is it not too big?
    Windows XP utilises the pagefile all the time; it does not put things in there when all or nearly all physical RAM is occupied.
    Windows XP sets a pagefile 1.5x the physical RAM in the belief that you're going to use it to its full extent - and most people start throwing RAM in their PCs because they want to run a lot of programs at once.
    The size is set to a fixed value (rather than one that is changed on the fly, as in previous Win9x OSes) so it not have to be changed very often (and Windows will change it if needed, popping up a bubble by the system tray to let you know) as that would fragment it and slow its use.
    Whether it actually makes a great or noticeable difference, I could not say, because I just let Windows handle it and don't have any issues.
    There isn't a bargepole long enough for me to work on [a Sony Viao] - clocker 2008

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    Quote Originally Posted by Chewie UK
    Quote Originally Posted by RPerry

    we are happy for you, but how does that help Orcutt989 ?
    Hehehe. Dont'cha jus' lurv people that post in help forums without actually helping?

    Perhaps I'm saying that the size of his pagefile isn't too big, did you think of that? Forgive me if I didn't actually state that - I obviously over-estimate the intelligence in these forums, eh?
    Then again, maybe you are acting a bit mental.

    Orcutt didn't ask about his pagefile, he wanted to know about why windows was eating his ram. And the fact that it's eating 333MB of ram from the get-go means that it's using a bit much. Besides, there's no point in blowing up your pagefile too much either, you have that big a pagefile because it's how windows sets it, and he probaly has 768 megs, since that's 1.5 times the sizes of his ram, and supposedly the optimal size. Which is debateably btw.

    Since his pagefile is bound to be slower than his ram, ideally he should liberate more ram, rather than blowing up the pagefile. Feck it, with at least a gig of ram he could turn off his pagefile, if he isn't using photoshop or something, that'd up his speeds.


    @Orcutt:I don't like it if windows uses over 300 megs, so it sounds to me as if you should shut some stuff off, looking for a link you can use just now. I have it somewhere.

    EDits: Check this.
    To shut down a service, or to set it to manual, use services.msc like Black viper said.

    And have a look at one of these.
    Last edited by Snee; 05-30-2005 at 12:36 PM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •