Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: wierd internet problem

  1. #1
    scribblec's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    england
    Posts
    3,326
    When I boot my computer and start IE, it works fine for about 10-15 minutes.

    Then IE completely dies, refuses to connect to any website, and internet
    access is just dead for however long the computer is on. "Cannot Find Server"
    on all websites attempted to connect to.

    Only by restarting the computer can I get internet access back, yet its for
    10-15mins. Its quite annoying having to restart every time I want internet
    access.

    Any suggestion about what's happening?

    -No new programs installed recently
    -This is a new computer and new OS, so no spyware or adware, etc. (Checked
    anyway)
    -The issue started last weekend, and System Restore to the previous week was
    done, but no effect. Problem still continues.
    -IE 6.0.2900

    im having this same exact problem and i dont know what else to do

    ive tried all the solutions on http://forum.iamnotageek.com/history...9073385-1.html
    no help can someone tell me wats wrong

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Izagaia's Avatar Her angel of darkness
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Beyond midnight, near you, in darkness...
    Age
    46
    Posts
    709
    Perhaps a router or broadband modem issue?


    Even so with being a new system, then it is likely that you do not have a great deal of valuable files stored yet. It may be a pain to do again, however, using your recovery disk to re-vert the system back to it's factory-shipped state would not be an entirely bad idea. It certainly may not be the "best" or "easiest", however it would solve the problem... provided that the problem is indeed the PC. As you did this, you could even keep track of what you are doing, in the process, as you re-install later-added applications, drivers and configuration settings. This will aid you in trouble-shooting if the problem should arise again.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    scribblec's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    england
    Posts
    3,326
    but why does my downloads on azureas keep working

    also if im connected to msn before it dies msn works fine completly its just it wont connect to any new websites, it was doing it before but the problem before was not letting ie have server thingy in zone alarm. i did give it access but it still doesnt work. reinstalling is a pain

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    hmm only one word comes to mind as a solution FIREFOX...You won't be sorry

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    McrslV's Avatar Hammer Smashed Face
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    who me?
    Age
    45
    Posts
    1,650
    Check your host file to see if you have bad entries in it, also try uninstalling IE and re-installing it.
    your host file should only have the following entry in it :


    # Copyright (c) 1993-1999 Microsoft Corp.
    #
    # This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
    #
    # This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
    # entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
    # be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
    # The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
    # space.
    #
    # Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
    # lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
    #
    # For example:
    #
    # 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
    # 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

    127.0.0.1 localhost


    ***the above can be found in c:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc***

    But definitly try re-doing your browser, or try another browser, like firefox
    Last edited by McrslV; 06-04-2005 at 02:17 AM.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Quote Originally Posted by accat13
    hmm only one word comes to mind as a solution FIREFOX...You won't be sorry


    Ya I know . but IE is the browser he 's using , so we should show some respect and give advice on the problem at hand ?

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    harrycary's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Omaha, Ne USA
    Posts
    1,078
    I had a similar problem only it didn't matter what browser I used.

    I updated the drivers for my onboard LAN card and fixed the problem.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    scribblec's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    england
    Posts
    3,326
    like the guy above firefox was no use either


    i found the problem though

    if i shut down azureas when this problem occurs, everything works fine. so im assuming its a azureas problem, anyone know wat i can do? it was similar to the bittornado problem of freezing where changing how many connections sorted it out


    scrap that it doesnt work it was a one off

    how do i reinstall these host files :s
    Last edited by scribblec; 06-05-2005 at 04:22 AM.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Firefox is the usual correction for browsing problems. And if the same problem occurs with firefox it's your HOST files. That happen to me with my flash player not loading anything which required flash.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    RPerry's Avatar Synergy BT Rep: Bad Rep
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Charlotte, North Carolina
    Age
    43
    Posts
    3,360
    I had a problem like this too not long ago.I believe the problem was with my ISP at the time, which was earthlink dial-up. I began running emule in the backround all the time, and it fixed my problem. I have not done anything else since going to cable, and I have not had this problem

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •