Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Windows product activation

  1. #1
    Mr. Mulder's Avatar pepper your angus BT Rep: +10BT Rep +10
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Vault 111
    Age
    31
    Posts
    30,947
    I installed XP Pro from this 8-in-1 CD awhile ago, which has 8 versions of Windows on it (OEM, retail, Home ect).



    I installed XP Pro, and it's worked fine these past 3 or 3 months, but now when I start-up the computer, I get a 7 day count down to register the Windows Product? "Your Windows Product must be registered withing 7 days, would you like to register now?"



    There's some sort of batch file/crack that launches at every start-up, that's always been there, not too sure on what it does though. I always assumed it was for the Windows activation thing. Checked for login scripts and there's none assigned, there's not batch file in the Start-up folder either.



    So what can I do about this activation thing?

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Retired
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    14,058
    cracking discussions arent allowed...

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Find XP Pro Corp edition, do a repair installation. Corp edition doesn't need activation.

    Make sure you know where your product key is first. PM me if you can't find it.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Mr. Mulder's Avatar pepper your angus BT Rep: +10BT Rep +10
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Vault 111
    Age
    31
    Posts
    30,947
    what happens if i do activate it? will Billy come knocking at my door?

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Money Fist's Avatar Che-Che get the yayo
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    London, England
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,014
    naaa
    maybe the SAS
    through the windows too (get it)
    Last edited by Money Fist; 06-10-2005 at 11:03 AM.


  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Do household users actually get caught for things like that?

    And is it common or ultra rare? because im not bothered and maybe I should be.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    pm sent

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    S!X's Avatar L33T Member BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    7,734
    Just get corp its the only way to go, I got really sick of those idiots at microsoft. Telling me I have a illegal copy of windows.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    McrslV's Avatar Hammer Smashed Face
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    who me?
    Age
    45
    Posts
    1,650
    once you get your windows activated, copy the wpa.dbl file located in windows\system32\ and save it somewhere in case you ever have to reload, then you just boot up in safe mode, copy this file back into your system32, and when you reboot, you wont need to reactivate.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Hairbautt's Avatar *haircut
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Florida
    Age
    20
    Posts
    11,028
    Quote Originally Posted by McrslV
    once you get your windows activated, copy the wpa.dbl file located in windows\system32\ and save it somewhere in case you ever have to reload, then you just boot up in safe mode, copy this file back into your system32, and when you reboot, you wont need to reactivate.
    Does that work with Office XP? Just wondering...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •