Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Hard Drive

  1. #1
    Bebi's Avatar Super Duper Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    676

    Dry

    I bought 2 new hard drive (seagat 250gb 7200rpm) and I set one to master and one to slave via jumpers and plugged them in and by bios detects them as master and slave but the slave does not appear in my "My Computer" but it is in the bios but I cannot add it to the boot order it is in the subsection "Hard Drive" which only replaces the master, do I need to format it somehow or what happened


  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    You need to go into disk management (via Control Panel/Administrative Tools/Computer Management), then partition and format the drive.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Bebi's Avatar Super Duper Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    676
    what category is that under? if its under disk management then the drive doesnt show there either


  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    If you have 2 drives connected then you should see Disk 0 and Disk 1 in the Disk Management lower part of the screen. Partition and format it there.

    If not then check in the Device Manager under Disk drives. Both drive should be listed.
    Last edited by Virtualbody1234; 06-17-2005 at 05:53 PM.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    An interesting story....
    Just yesterday I was assembling a new build for a customer.
    We were going to use the two HDDs (a WD80GB and a WD 120GB) from his Gateway PC (the ever popular black/silver "giant toaster" model).

    He brough in his Gateway, we plugged it in and he dragged all the data from the 80GB to the larger drive.
    The 80 was to be his C: (OS) drive and the other a slave.

    No prob.

    Installed the drives, wiped/formatted/installed XP...all was fine.

    Except the 120GB drive was nowhere to be found in My Computer.
    No combination of jumpers would make it appear.

    The drive showed up in BIOS and even in Disk Management...it was Disk1, it was healthy, I could even see how much free space was available....but Windows would not assign it a drive letter, so it could not be accessed.

    Not at all good.

    Anyone have any ideas what the problem ( and ultimate fix) turned out to be?
    The clues are obvious, once you know what to look for....

    Oh, OK, I'll tell you.

    It was the damn Gateway "Go-Back" software....an even bigger POS than Microsoft's (later) System Restore app.
    It must modify the MBR on it's subject disks to the point where Windows can kinda see them, but doesn't know what to do with them.

    In desperation I put the drive back into the Gateway and fired it up.
    As there was no longer an OS present the PC could not boot ( although it made a valiant effort to do so), but I could access the GoBack and remove it from the drive.
    This took 3 1/2 hours.

    Reinstalled into the new machine and all was well.
    What a relief.

    Damn Gateway.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Quote Originally Posted by clocker
    An interesting story....
    Just yesterday I was assembling a new build for a customer.
    We were going to use the two HDDs (a WD80GB and a WD 120GB) from his Gateway PC (the ever popular black/silver "giant toaster" model).

    He brough in his Gateway, we plugged it in and he dragged all the data from the 80GB to the larger drive.
    The 80 was to be his C: (OS) drive and the other a slave.

    No prob.

    Installed the drives, wiped/formatted/installed XP...all was fine.

    Except the 120GB drive was nowhere to be found in My Computer.
    No combination of jumpers would make it appear.

    The drive showed up in BIOS and even in Disk Management...it was Disk1, it was healthy, I could even see how much free space was available....but Windows would not assign it a drive letter, so it could not be accessed.

    Not at all good.

    Anyone have any ideas what the problem ( and ultimate fix) turned out to be?
    The clues are obvious, once you know what to look for....

    Oh, OK, I'll tell you.

    It was the damn Gateway "Go-Back" software....an even bigger POS than Microsoft's (later) System Restore app.
    It must modify the MBR on it's subject disks to the point where Windows can kinda see them, but doesn't know what to do with them.

    In desperation I put the drive back into the Gateway and fired it up.
    As there was no longer an OS present the PC could not boot ( although it made a valiant effort to do so), but I could access the GoBack and remove it from the drive.
    This took 3 1/2 hours.

    Reinstalled into the new machine and all was well.
    What a relief.

    Damn Gateway.
    Yeah, I've been though the same thing. What a pain.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    RPerry's Avatar Synergy BT Rep: Bad Rep
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Charlotte, North Carolina
    Age
    43
    Posts
    3,360
    I had something simillar happen with my new dual layer DVD-RW. The pc would not assign a drive letter. It appeared in the device manager and everything I ended up disabling both my virtual drives, then mine appeared. Wonder what the deal is with Windows xp ?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •