Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 39

Thread: Finalizations

  1. #1
    S!X's Avatar L33T Member BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    7,734
    Ive been doing alot of looking on newegg for the stuff I want in my new comp and this is what ive come up with. The concern that I have, is the ram is it gonna be too much?

    Case http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811144026

    Optical Drive http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827152035

    Hard Drive
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148069

    Ram
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145575


    PSU
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817151024

    Processor(Fuck yea!)
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103539

    Video Card
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102496

    Motherboard(S)

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813127196
    OR
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128283

    HSF
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835185115

    Cable Sleeving (Maybe)
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16812999032

    GPU Cooler
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835186116

    Im probbly gonna go for the ABIT mobo, I think the only thing that would change my mind is a money situation but I should be to go with all that ive chosen. Ive read alot of reviews on both mobos and there both really good Ideas? (clocker, I know your still rootin for ur board! )

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    I think the 2x1GB RAM is a mistake.
    One of the biggest benefits of the a64 architecture is the improved memory controllers and I'm pretty sure that you'll have to loosen up those gig sticks to get them stable.
    I'm not sure they will run at 1T either, but that's just a guess.


    Any of the mobos will be fine...I know how attached you are to the LEDs and other bling goodies so your choice of the ABIT comes as no surprise.

    We'll have to trade benchmarks when you get that thing running...I'd be interested to see how the SD and Winnie compare heads-up, at the same clock speeds.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    I just realised you haven't mentioned which model snow-blower you are going to fit. Getting the wrong model could seriously affect your system temps.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    S!X's Avatar L33T Member BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    7,734

    Surprised/Amazed

    Quote Originally Posted by lynx
    I just realised you haven't mentioned which model snow-blower you are going to fit. Getting the wrong model could seriously affect your system temps.
    Snow blower?

    @clocker, what do you recommend for the ram them? oh yea and why wouldnt they be stable? I dont wanna buy 2 gigs of 4 512 sticks its just too costly, unless I downgrade on the brand or get 1 GB, even tho id really love to have 2.
    Just when I thought all I had picked out was good to go..
    Last edited by S!X; 06-21-2005 at 06:37 AM.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    1Gb should really be enough, buy 1GB now and you have the option in the future to replace that 1GB with 2 1GB sticks with the newer speeds.

    No point spending $300 when $150 will get the same proformance then in 3 years go to buy the new stuff and have waisted all the extra money.


  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    S!X's Avatar L33T Member BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    7,734

    Unsure

    Quote Originally Posted by Peerzy
    1Gb should really be enough, buy 1GB now and you have the option in the future to replace that 1GB with 2 1GB sticks with the newer speeds.

    No point spending $300 when $150 will get the same proformance then in 3 years go to buy the new stuff and have waisted all the extra money.
    See the problem is this is a one time deal, after this im gonna have to buy all my stuff myself if I ever get a job. So I was hoping to get the best stuff I can now so I wont have to worry about upgrading soon. I was thinking, If it doesnt work and I cant get it to work properly ect.... or whatever may happen, I could return it and just get a gig.
    Last edited by S!X; 06-21-2005 at 08:45 AM.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Thing is 2Gb will give or take add 1 fps over your 1GB, and after a few years both sticks of ram will be out of date on the speed side so will need replacing if you want to keep the system in top shape.

    So that extra GB of ram is gonna give you an extra FPS on games for the next 3-5 years, then be useless. It'll just save whoever's paying for it a few hundred bucks.


  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    S!X's Avatar L33T Member BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    7,734

    Surprised/Amazed

    Quote Originally Posted by Peerzy
    Thing is 2Gb will give or take add 1 fps over your 1GB, and after a few years both sticks of ram will be out of date on the speed side so will need replacing if you want to keep the system in top shape.

    So that extra GB of ram is gonna give you an extra FPS on games for the next 3-5 years, then be useless. It'll just save whoever's paying for it a few hundred bucks.
    3-5 years eh. This is something that im gonna really think about.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Linkin Park
    Quote Originally Posted by Peerzy
    Thing is 2Gb will give or take add 1 fps over your 1GB, and after a few years both sticks of ram will be out of date on the speed side so will need replacing if you want to keep the system in top shape.

    So that extra GB of ram is gonna give you an extra FPS on games for the next 3-5 years, then be useless. It'll just save whoever's paying for it a few hundred bucks.
    3-5 years eh. This is something that im gonna really think about.

    Its not that far away, can you remember the first time you played NFSU 1. Well that was almost 3 years ago, if you had brought the RAM then, then by now you would start to need newer stuff to keep your gaming fix going.


  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    S!X's Avatar L33T Member BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    7,734

    Surprised/Amazed

    Quote Originally Posted by Peerzy
    Quote Originally Posted by Linkin Park

    3-5 years eh. This is something that im gonna really think about.

    Its not that far away, can you remember the first time you played NFSU 1. Well that was almost 3 years ago, if you had brought the RAM then, then by now you would start to need newer stuff to keep your gaming fix going.
    Me has NFSU1 for ps2 I must see what clocker has to say since hes got 2GB, if its worth it or not. I need more suggestions!
    Last edited by S!X; 06-21-2005 at 09:04 AM.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •