Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: partition magic

  1. #1
    scribblec's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    england
    Posts
    3,326


    i keep getting this error when trying to make an ntfs partition below 15 gigs

    if i make a 15 gig one it works fine if i make a 35 gig one its fine but when i make a 5 gig one it wont work what do i do

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    DanB's Avatar Smoke weed everyday
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    London, so fuck y'all
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,104
    make one of 15?

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Maybe it has to do with the fact that your C: partition is FAT32? Why is that?

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Izagaia's Avatar Her angel of darkness
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Beyond midnight, near you, in darkness...
    Age
    46
    Posts
    709
    If I recall correctly, any newly created NTFS partition must be no less than 7gig. I believe I read that somewhere in one of XP's HTML setup documents on the installation CD.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    scribblec's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    england
    Posts
    3,326
    my c drive came fat32 standard and this hasnt stopped me making partitions of ntfs which were 5 gigs before, the reason i only need to make a 5 gig one is because of some files being biger then 4 gig on my hardrive which i cant finish getting because of fat 32 limiatations

    and i cant make a 15 gig one because thats too much wasted space

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    scribblec's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    england
    Posts
    3,326
    Quote Originally Posted by Izagaia
    If I recall correctly, any newly created NTFS partition must be no less than 7gig. I believe I read that somewhere in one of XP's HTML setup documents on the installation CD.
    ok now i get to the point which it decides to create... i reboot and get an error 2003 telling me bacth file doesnt match fat allocated space or something similar, its never done this any of the previous times ive used it
    Last edited by scribblec; 06-25-2005 at 05:21 PM.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    scribblec's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    england
    Posts
    3,326
    Code:
    ===========================================================================================================
    Disk Geometry Information for Disk 1:    14406 Cylinders,  255 Heads,  63 Sectors/Track
    System              PartSect  # Boot BCyl Head Sect  FS    ECyl Head Sect    StartSect     NumSects
    ===========================================================================================================
    ML23G-4                    0  0  80     0    1    1  0C    1023  254   63           63  231,448,392
    Info: Begin C,H,S values were large drive placeholders.
    Info: End C,H,S values were large drive placeholders.
      Actual values are:
            0  0  80      0    1    1  0C  14406  254   63        63 231448392
    Error #109: Partition ends after end of disk.
      ucEndCylinder (14406) must be less than 14406.
    
    
    
    ===========================================================================================================
    Partition Information for Disk 1:    113,004.1 Megabytes
    Volume         PartType    Status    Size MB    PartSect  #   StartSect  TotalSects
    ===========================================================================================================
    C:ML23G-4      FAT32X      Pri,Boot 113,011.9           0  0          63 231,448,392
    
    
    ===========================================================================================================
    Boot Record for drive C:   (Drive: 1, Starting sector: 63, Type: FAT32)
    ===========================================================================================================
     1. Jump:                   EB 58 90
     2. OEM Name:               MSWIN4.1
     3. Bytes per Sector:       512
     4. Sectors per Cluster:    64
     5. Reserved Sectors:       32
     6. Number of FAT's:        2
     7. Reserved:               0x0000
     8. Reserved:               0x0000
     9. Media Descriptor:       0xF8
    10. Sectors per FAT:        0
    11. Sectors per Track:      63  (0x3F)
    12. Number of Heads:        255  (0xFF)
    13. Hidden Sectors:         63  (0x3F)
    14. Big Total Sectors:      231438912  (0xDCB7A40)
    15. Big Sectors per FAT:    28611
    16. Extended Flags:         0x0000
    17. FS Version:             0
    18. First Cluster of Root:  2  (0x2)
    19. FS Info Sector:         1
    20. Backup Boot Sector:     6
    21. Reserved:               000000000000000000000000 
    22. Drive ID:               0x80
    23. Reserved for NT:        0x01
    24. Extended Boot Sig:      0x29
    25. Serial Number:          0xA8E5E897
    26. Volume Name:            ML23G-4
    27. File System Type:       FAT32   
    28. Boot Signature:         0xAA55
    well the error is pretty much telling me that my hardrive has been in another computer (hasnt just been installed again cleanly from boot disk) but it doesnt tell me how to fix it

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Izagaia's Avatar Her angel of darkness
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Beyond midnight, near you, in darkness...
    Age
    46
    Posts
    709
    Have you tried looking up the error number within Symantec's knowledgebase or other archives?

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Afronaut's Avatar Xenu
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Teegeeack
    Posts
    3,799
    If there's some reading errors etc.
    dl the SpinRite and run that.
    It fixes HD's-gone-bad. (takes time thought)

    Also,
    there's another worth-checking-partition tool called
    Acronis Disk Director,
    I had some troubles with patitionmagic and this one
    did the job.

    I use the UBCD to boot and do stuff.
    It's pretty good for partitioning and other stuff.
    Particularly if Windows should not be loaded.

    Spoiler: Show

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Can you not convert your FAT32 partion to NTSC, i remember reading someone had claimed to have done it but didn't bother reading into it much, it might be easy to do now-a-days.


    Also why make just a 5GB partion.

    4GB or so for the file(DVD i take it or XBOX/PS2) but then you need another 4GB to extract the release from the RAR archives.
    Last edited by Peerzy; 06-26-2005 at 08:01 AM.


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •