Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Reformatting the hard drive prob...

  1. #1
    threelions00's Avatar on a shirt... BT Rep: +12BT Rep +12BT Rep +12
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    838

    Question Mark

    Hi people...me again...

    Ok, I have an Advent T9100

    I have recently had the mobo changed and want to reformat my pc...

    The way i have done it in the past is to just insert the CD, restart and press 'R' when it asks me to.

    But now, it doesn't give me this option.

    How can i get round this? I have tried putting it in the other dvd slot and allsorts of combinations but to no avail.

    Do i need to set the bios so it will allow me to do it?

    Thanks again anyone that may help.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    Go into your bios and make sure the first (or second if you need to boot from your floppy) entry in the boot order is a cd-rom.

    Hopefully this is all that needs to be done. Remember that the hd you want to install windows to still needs to be in the list, so if it's first then drop it a notch, don't remove it completely.

    If you still can't boot from your cd no matter what, then get a bootdisk image for the appropriate os from www.bootdisk.com, and use a floppy to boot up the installer. (This is assuming your mobo detects the right drive but can't boot from it.)


    EDit: also, what os are you trying to install?
    Last edited by Snee; 07-08-2005 at 07:22 PM.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    threelions00's Avatar on a shirt... BT Rep: +12BT Rep +12BT Rep +12
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    838
    i am trying to put on xp home...i will give what u said a go

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    threelions00's Avatar on a shirt... BT Rep: +12BT Rep +12BT Rep +12
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    838
    ok snny...i got it now thanks.

    i think i may be learning a little now...i even had an idea i may need to change something in the bios...woah....

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    threelions00's Avatar on a shirt... BT Rep: +12BT Rep +12BT Rep +12
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    838
    erm...one more thing...can i upadate all my drivers from the desktop...i.e. let the computer search for them on the web? or do i have to go and find them all?

    is so what should i update? video? sound? anything else?

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    Windows will install most drivers you need to run your system. If something doesn't work you'll definitely need drivers from somewhere else.

    Have a look at the cd that came with your mobo, if one did, there may be be drivers on that. Remember though, that it's usually good to get the most recent drivers you can find, and that these are usually found on the manufacturer's website.

    And feel free to post what hardware you have, and I'll have a look if you want.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    threelions00's Avatar on a shirt... BT Rep: +12BT Rep +12BT Rep +12
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    838
    cheers snny...i will do just that when i work out what i have....any easy way of finding out? i am not trying to cut corners by looking for an easy way round each time but i am one of the reasons that the ...for dummies was invented

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    I think some people install everest home to check this kind of thing, if you have windows working now.

    If you just bought the mobo you should still have the box for it though, right? So that, you'll know what it is, anyway.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Go to Start>Control Panel>System>Hardware>Device Manager.
    Anything with a yellow "X" or exclamation point is needing drivers.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    threelions00's Avatar on a shirt... BT Rep: +12BT Rep +12BT Rep +12
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    838
    cheers clocker...the prob was that it would not let me install any usb so i could not use net, memory stick or printer...

    all sorted now, just getting sound driver then will get everest like snny said

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •