Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: over heating?

  1. #1
    GepperRankins's Avatar we want your oil!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    the suburbs. honestment
    Age
    31
    Posts
    21,102
    when i'm playing games things keep messing up. every thirty seconds or so the screen will freeze, go black for a second then work again. there's also other weird things happening like the screen going two colour (grey and black) for a second or two. ground textures flickering black.


    i underclocked my graphics card CPU and RAM bout 10mhz each but it still does it

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Smith's Avatar Since 1989.. BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    in a plane, high as fuck
    Posts
    5,637
    google speedfan and install it, and post temps.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    GepperRankins's Avatar we want your oil!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    the suburbs. honestment
    Age
    31
    Posts
    21,102
    temp1 25C
    temp2 37C (was 40 before i underclocked)
    temp3 6C



    rather worryingly the icon for my C: drive is a flame.

    i think i'm gonna shut my pc down and move it

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Smith's Avatar Since 1989.. BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    in a plane, high as fuck
    Posts
    5,637
    Nope, those temps are fine. Its when you get 50+ that you have to start paying attention

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    Quote Originally Posted by GepperRankins
    temp1 25C
    temp2 37C (was 40 before i underclocked)
    temp3 6C



    rather worryingly the icon for my C: drive is a flame.

    i think i'm gonna shut my pc down and move it
    is that temp3 a typo? if not its a misread temp
    if it was a typo, and say, was 60 C on a HDD, I would be concerned

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    It needn't necessarily be overheating.

    But yeah, the flame icon is a bad sign, if I remember correctly.
    Only had speedfan installed very briefly, and that was months ago.


    Installed new drivers recently?

    My brother's graphics went haywire a little while ago (posted a thread about it) still haven't figured out exactly what it is, 'cept for the fact that the old monitor seems to be borked. They kept being buggy with a new monitor though, the latest thing we've tried this far is to load up optimized defaults in BIOS, which appears to have sorted it.

    If lots of people start getting weird graphics issues at once though, it might be the new nvidia drivers, for instance, if you have those. I'll see if it keeps happening to him, then I'll try older drivers.

    I'm rambling a bit here and I may be very wrong, 'cos I'm tired as fuck, so don't take any of this too seriously.
    Last edited by Snee; 07-13-2005 at 02:24 AM.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    If its a 6600gt make sure you have the power cable plugged into it.
    Could also be a power starved video card.

    How about some system specs?
    Customer: "I want to download the Internet. Do I need a bigger hard disk?"

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    GepperRankins's Avatar we want your oil!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    the suburbs. honestment
    Age
    31
    Posts
    21,102
    temp3 wasn't a typo, it says 7 degrees now. when i saw my 120gig at 50C with the little fire icon i shut my pc down and moved my hard-drives to catch the air from the front case fan taking about 15C off the heat (now 35C)

    to be honest i don't even think my card has a thermometer. i just figured it must be that because they only thing that's changed recently is the weather

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Quote Originally Posted by GepperRankins
    temp3 wasn't a typo, it says 7 degrees now.
    It's not a typo...it's Speedfan being stupid.
    Looking for a sensor your board either doesn't have or doesn't utilize, Speedfan has decided just to make up a number.
    Typically, it will report 127C with a flame, yours is just a bit more creative.

    Unless you have installed a Slurpee in your PC.
    Then it would be just about right.
    Last edited by clocker; 07-13-2005 at 11:29 AM.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    Quote Originally Posted by clocker
    Quote Originally Posted by GepperRankins
    temp3 wasn't a typo, it says 7 degrees now.
    It's not a typo...it's Speedfan being stupid.
    yeah, kinda figured, but had to ask

    if the HDD has temp monitoring through SMART,
    try checking it with Everest

    but knocking that 15 degrees off was a good deal
    WD drives, for example, most have a max temp of 55 C, (for the ATA/IDE drives anyway),
    not sure about the SATAs
    I think Seagates may be able to take a bit more heat,
    but I still like to keep mine as cool as possible,
    50 C on a HDD gets me nervous

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •