Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Xp firewall and bittorent?

  1. #1
    Right from one website it tells you to do this to make sure you get the best speed and that your ports are open.....

    1)
    Click the Start menu, and then click My Network Places.
    2)
    Go to Network Tasks, click View Network Connections. (Alternatively, you can right-click My Network Places and click Properties.)
    3)
    Right-click the connection you use for the Internet and choose Properties.
    4)
    Click the Advanced tab, and then click Settings.
    If the Settings button is unavailable, ICF is not enabled on this connection and you do not need to open any ports (they are all already open).
    5)
    Click Add to open a new port.
    6)
    Type a name in the Description box, for example, "BitTorrent".
    7)
    Type 127.0.0.1 in the Name or IP address of the computer hosting this service on your network box. You can specify the IP address of an internal computer; however, in most cases, just use 127.0.0.1.
    8)
    Type the client port (6881-6899).
    9)
    Choose TCP, and then click OK.
    10)
    If you use a client like ABC, you can see by the torrent name turning green that everything worked OK.

    I can do up to number 7 but i dont know where to the client port, does anyone know?

  2. BitTorrent   -   #2
    Retired
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    14,058
    no one uses 6881-6899. because almost ALL sites have these ports blocked.

  3. BitTorrent   -   #3
    horia's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Romania
    Age
    28
    Posts
    272
    I always put a random port... it's the best way. they can't block all ports

  4. BitTorrent   -   #4
    micolithe's Avatar Painfully average.
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    NJ
    Age
    30
    Posts
    153
    6999 has always been a favorite port of mine.
    Current Favorite Song
    Exodus Damage by John Vanderslice

  5. BitTorrent   -   #5
    Retired
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    14,058
    Quote Originally Posted by horia
    I always put a random port... it's the best way. they can't block all ports
    it's not.

    if your using a router how would you port forward?

    using 1 port is the best


    https://filesharingtalk.com/vb3/t87806.html
    Last edited by {I}{K}{E}; 07-14-2005 at 07:13 PM.

  6. BitTorrent   -   #6
    where do i type the client port?

  7. BitTorrent   -   #7
    davec8's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Windsor, Ontario
    Age
    40
    Posts
    104
    Quote Originally Posted by Lincoln-Imp
    where do i type the client port?
    You have to go into the options for your bittorrent client. From there you'll be able to find and type in which port or port range you want to use.

  8. BitTorrent   -   #8
    Retired
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    14,058
    Quote Originally Posted by Lincoln-Imp
    where do i type the client port?
    did you check the link I posted?

  9. BitTorrent   -   #9
    Sorry missed your post, when i click on view configuration isnt there

  10. BitTorrent   -   #10
    Ive gone on options and it says "6881" Incoming TCP listen port. Is that the client port?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •