Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: 9800 SE install question...

  1. #1
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,631
    OK, I'm replacing an nVidia 6800ti with a 9800SE. If I'm correct, it should be as easyas just switching the cards. However, when I switch the cards and reboot, I get a message stating:

    You have not connected the power cable to your RADEON 9700 video card, please refer to the "Getting started guide" for proper installation !!!"

    Power cord ???

    The only thing I saw as being a potential problem, was not having the driver installed prior to inserting the card.

    Any ideas?????????????????????



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Your card requires extra juice and has a floppy drive power port to get it.

    See it up there in the top right hand corner?
    Plug it in.
    Last edited by clocker; 07-17-2005 at 11:04 AM.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Monkeee's Avatar Post Whore
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,453
    lol maybe u need to plug the power cord to your video card?

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,631
    Quote Originally Posted by clocker
    Your card requires extra juice and has a floppy drive power port to get it.
    Plug it in.
    Pardon my ignorance, but can you be more specific?



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    See my original (newly edited) post.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    OF course, he could have simply read the "Getting started guide".
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,631
    OK, first off, the connection in that location is slightly different on the card that I have. Here is an example:



    It's hard to tell where all the wires are coming from since I have a Shuttle system and everything is buried down in there.

    I do see a wire that is sitting on top that comes from somewhere down in the PC that comes from below, connects to my DVD drive, and then has two connections that extend past that. One is a smaller connector that looks like it would fit onto what you posted, and the other is one that would fit onto what I have. I'm not sure if this is the right wire or not. I can't even test it because it's about six inches to short to plug into the video card. Is this even the correct wire??



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,631
    Quote Originally Posted by lynx
    OF course, he could have simply read the "Getting started guide".
    Trust me, I looked for this. It doesn't even exist in the manual.



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Yes that is the correct wire.

    For the "too short" problem, you can try unpluging another device like an optical drive or HDD and rearrange the wires. Maybe you can reach all the devices that way.

    If not then you'll need an extention.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    Quote Originally Posted by Skizo
    OK, first off, the connection in that location is slightly different on the card that I have. Here is an example:



    It's hard to tell where all the wires are coming from since I have a Shuttle system and everything is buried down in there.

    I do see a wire that is sitting on top that comes from somewhere down in the PC that comes from below, connects to my DVD drive, and then has two connections that extend past that. One is a smaller connector that looks like it would fit onto what you posted, and the other is one that would fit onto what I have. I'm not sure if this is the right wire or not. I can't even test it because it's about six inches to short to plug into the video card. Is this even the correct wire??
    Shuttles can be a bit of short on molexes. So you might need a splitter if you are unlucky, as it's possible that all the right connectors are already in use..

    The psu (a metal box with a fan on the front) is probably situated on the right side of the case, the cable you are looking for should come from that.

    The connector is supposed to look something like:




    Which model shuttle do you have, exactly?
    Last edited by Snee; 07-17-2005 at 11:54 AM.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •