Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Harddisk buffer/cache?

  1. #1
    Retired
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    14,058

    Question Mark

    I'm gonna buy a new HD. (finally, old one broke in Jan.)


    most likely: Maxtor DiamondMax 10, 250Gb, 7200rpm,16Mb ATA133


    I was wondering what the 'Mb' means and if you notice any difference when using an 8Mb or 16Mb HD.
    Last edited by {I}{K}{E}; 07-30-2005 at 09:53 PM.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    MB = megabytes

    The spec you refer to is cache memory of the HDD. It's a temporary storage area for data to be ready when the "interface" has available bandwidth.

    As to noticing a difference with 8 vs 16, there are a few circumstances where the 16 MB is an advantage but not often. You probably would never notice it. But it can be measured.

    I suspect there is only a few dollars difference in price so get the 16 MB one anyway.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Personally I'd go for Seagate, I find they are quieter.

    And SATA if your mobo supports it.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Quote Originally Posted by lynx
    Personally I'd go for Seagate, I find they are quieter.
    Not so much anymore.

    The Maxtor DiamondMax 10 is an improved design:

    Idle (typical, 1 disk, 3 disk) 2.5 / 2.9 bels

    -----

    The Seagate Barracuda 7200.9

    Acoustics, Idle (bels) --- 2.8
    Last edited by Virtualbody1234; 07-30-2005 at 11:18 PM.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Retired
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    14,058
    I dont think my mobo supports S-ATA (Jetway v266b)



    thnx for the info VB
    Last edited by {I}{K}{E}; 07-30-2005 at 11:56 PM.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    i've got a maxtor diamond max 10 300gb with 16mb cache in my xbox and its a great drive.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •