Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: How do you think this would run?

  1. #1
    How do you think this would run? Trying to stay under 600 but all this right here is less then $400 if you have anything I could change and improve tell me I want to build this.

    Case: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811144001 46.00
    Cd/Dvd Rom http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827131410 20.99
    Hardrive http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144122 56.00
    Memory http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145026 45.75
    Mobo http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131468 60.50
    Processor http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819104210 71.00
    Graphics card http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150059 72.00

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Well, it should run like what it is...a middling, basic PC.
    Nothing amazing, but not terrible either.

    What are you hoping for?
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Anything I can improve? I want tog et the best out of my $500 - $600
    Systems Specs
    -----------------------------------
    O/S: Windows Xp Service Pack 2
    Processor: Intel Pentium 4
    Speed: 2.6 ghz
    Graphics: Nvidia Geforce 6800 128MB DDR SDRAM
    Ram: 1Gig of ram
    Comp Model: Hp Pavilion a250n
    -----------------------------------

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    Well, if I were you I'd see if I couldn't get hold of at least a sempron 3000 for socket A as it has a proper Barton core, or maybe a regular Athlon XP, if you are determined to go the socket A route.

    And/or I might also swap that graphics card for a 6600GT.



    But as computers go that setup is all right, but not very exciting.

    EDit: a better PSU wouldn't hurt, either.
    EDit: This mobo is nice.
    Last edited by Snee; 08-04-2005 at 10:10 AM.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Well here is an update. I added a better Graphics card and Processor. Im sorta new with this but what is a "socket A?" Please don't say nevermind just stick with my old mobo cause im a noob or something please explain because I am interested in all this stuff.

    Processor http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819104229 $137.00
    Graphics card http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150089 $154.00
    Last edited by imasoldier; 08-04-2005 at 10:46 AM.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    That's a socket 754 processor, you need a socket A processor for the mobo you've picked.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    This would be a good mate for the Abit board that Snny recommended.
    It's OEM so you'll need to get a heatsink for it.

    SocketA (or 462) describes the physical socket that your processor slots into on the motherboard.
    They are NOT interchangable, so you must be aware of what you are getting.

    SocketA (and socket754, for that matter) are being phased out of production, so you are buying into a dead end, technology-wise, but with your budget that will be the best you can do.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Better still, go for this processor
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103537 $146.00
    and find a motherboard to match. Here's one
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136160 $89.00

    You will notice that is PCI-E, which means a different graphics card, probably something like this:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102564 $72.00

    You will need a decent PSU with a 24-pin power connector to power all that lot, so consider a different case (probably without PSU) and a good PSU such as this:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103928 $69.99

    That's still below your $600 limit, but you will have a system which is up-to-date and which you can upgrade in the future.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    We have had great success with this video card , but you'll need a goodly amount (512mb to 1GB) of system RAM to use it.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    If the PSU is socket 754 does the Mobo need to be socket 754?
    Systems Specs
    -----------------------------------
    O/S: Windows Xp Service Pack 2
    Processor: Intel Pentium 4
    Speed: 2.6 ghz
    Graphics: Nvidia Geforce 6800 128MB DDR SDRAM
    Ram: 1Gig of ram
    Comp Model: Hp Pavilion a250n
    -----------------------------------

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •