Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: windows media player wont play streaming files

  1. #1
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    london baby!!
    Posts
    369
    when i try to play a windows media file that is on the net it wont play, and when i click the error details i get

    "Windows Media Player cannot play the file. If the file is located on the Internet, connect to the Internet. If the file is located a removable storage card, insert the storage card."

    it was working a few days ago and now it wont??????
    any idea`s as to why not??

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Retired
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    14,058
    do you have a firewall? maybe its blocking WMP

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    london baby!!
    Posts
    369
    yer i have a norton fire wall, but i`ve had it over a year now,i`ll check to see if it is.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    london baby!!
    Posts
    369
    ok its not that, still not working though

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    london baby!!
    Posts
    369
    errr i`ve still got this prob, any ideas?????

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    sounds like firewall issues still, something is blocking media player from getting to the content. make sure the windows firewall has not turned itself on and check through your norton settings again.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    I don't think this is a firewall issue. It sounds to me like a windows media licensing issue. I suspect that if you copy the shortcut and paste it into VLan, it will play fine.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    maebach's Avatar Team FST Captain
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    burlington, Ontario
    Posts
    5,341
    Quote Originally Posted by mnfesq
    I don't think this is a firewall issue. It sounds to me like a windows media licensing issue. I suspect that if you copy the shortcut and paste it into VLan, it will play fine.
    Go VLAN . I usually don't get problems with WMP. Is there Quicktime? or Real?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •