PDA

View Full Version : Borland C++



orcutt989
10-03-2005, 09:24 PM
Ugh. I have been trying to get both Borland C++6 and Borland C++5 to work on my computer, but they do not! My school uses Borland 5 standard, so I recieved Borland C++6 Enterprise Edition, installed, but when I wrote a simple program like "Hello World", and hit the "Run" button, nothing happened.... I then tried Borland C++ Professional, and the same thing happened! Can anyone help me? I just want to be able to program at home!

gsky
10-03-2005, 09:51 PM
you probably need to add directories to your path, read the tutorial if they have one, never used it myself but have encountered many errors such as yours and is usually path related...

4play
10-03-2005, 10:11 PM
for college all you need is the free command line compiler (8.7mb). http://www.borland.com/downloads/download_cbuilder.html

then follow http://community.borland.com/article/0,1410,21205,00.html

orcutt989
10-03-2005, 10:18 PM
you probably need to add directories to your path, read the tutorial if they have one, never used it myself but have encountered many errors such as yours and is usually path related...

Directories to my path?

4play
10-03-2005, 10:26 PM
3. Using the mouse, right-click on the "My Computer" icon (on your desktop) and choose "Properties".
4. Click on the "Advanced" tab.
5. Click on the "Environment Variables..." button.
6. Highlight the "Path" System variable (bottom).
7. Click on the "Edit..." button.
8. Append the line with ";C:\BORLAND\BCC55\BIN;"
9. Click OK (in the "Edit System Variables")
10. Click OK (in the "Environment Variables" window) and click OK (in the "System Properties" window) Navigating to the directory, "c:\Borland\bcc55\bin"
11. cd borland [Enter]
12. cd bcc55 [Enter]
13. cd bin [Enter]


make sure c:\borland\bcc55\bin is replaced with where ever the bcc file is in your install.

orcutt989
10-03-2005, 10:58 PM
I am sorry, I dont really understand what to do after I click ok out of the system properties?

There is a BIN folder at C:\Program Files\Borland\CBuilder5


8. Append the line with ";C:\BORLAND\BCC55\BIN;"

Do I need the semi colons there? And what does "Append" mean?

4play
10-03-2005, 11:06 PM
append means add to the end of and it should read

;C:\Program Files\Borland\CBuilder5; if that is where the exe for your borland compiler sits.

what you are doing is telling the command line when someone types in a command and you dont recognise it look in this directory to see if it is there. when your compiler executes "bcc32 project.cpp" it will now find the exe bcc32 in that directory and let it run.

oh yeah you need to restart the pc for it to work.

edit : shit that is meant to say ;C:\Program Files\Borland\CBuilder5\bin;

the extra bin is where the binary files are stored which is what you want.

orcutt989
10-04-2005, 07:30 PM
11. cd borland [Enter]
12. cd bcc55 [Enter]
13. cd bin [Enter]

What is that?

4play
10-04-2005, 07:37 PM
11. cd borland [Enter]
12. cd bcc55 [Enter]
13. cd bin [Enter]

What is that?

looks like it wants you t navigate to the bin directory in dos since to setup the free compiler you have to make a few config files. hopefully the full versions wont need you to.

have you got it working ?

orcutt989
10-04-2005, 08:34 PM
What is that?

looks like it wants you t navigate to the bin directory in dos since to setup the free compiler you have to make a few config files. hopefully the full versions wont need you to.

have you got it working ?

No, I quoted what you said in the steps? What are those 3 things? I did everything you said, and made a hello world program, i am getting a linker error..

4play
10-04-2005, 09:09 PM
you need to create the 2 files below and add them in your bin directory.
1) bcc32.cfg

-I"C:\Program Files\Borland\CBuilder5\include"
-L"C:\Program Files\Borland\CBuilder5\lib"

2) ilink32.cfg

-L"C:\Program Files\Borland\CBuilder5\lib"

that should resolve the linker error. just make the files in notepad and make sure you put "" marks around the filenames so notepad does not append .txt on the end.

orcutt989
10-04-2005, 10:52 PM
you need to create the 2 files below and add them in your bin directory.
1) bcc32.cfg

-I"C:\Program Files\Borland\CBuilder5\include"
-L"C:\Program Files\Borland\CBuilder5\lib"

2) ilink32.cfg

-L"C:\Program Files\Borland\CBuilder5\lib"

that should resolve the linker error. just make the files in notepad and make sure you put "" marks around the filenames so notepad does not append .txt on the end.

So what you are saying, is you want me to make the file bcc32.cfg, and put

-I"C:\Program Files\Borland\CBuilder5\include"
-L"C:\Program Files\Borland\CBuilder5\lib"

within it, save it as bcc32.cfg, then make another program called ilink32.cfg with

-L"C:\Program Files\Borland\CBuilder5\lib"

in it?

EDIT: It says these files already exist, overwrite them?

4play
10-04-2005, 11:09 PM
EDIT: It says these files already exist, overwrite them?
yeah or open the files with notepad and add that. of course make sure that the include and the lib directories are actually in \cbuilder5.

orcutt989
10-05-2005, 12:41 AM
EDIT: It says these files already exist, overwrite them?
yeah or open the files with notepad and add that. of course make sure that the include and the lib directories are actually in \cbuilder5.

This is what is located in the bcc32.cfg file


-I"C:\Program Files\Borland\CBuilder5\Include";"C:\Program Files\Borland\CBuilder5\Include\vcl"
-L"C:\Program Files\Borland\CBuilder5\Lib";"C:\Program Files\Borland\CBuilder5\Lib\obj";"C:\Program Files\Borland\CBuilder5\Lib\release"


and this is what is in the ilink32.cfg file


-L"C:\Program Files\Borland\CBuilder5\Lib";"C:\Program Files\Borland\CBuilder5\Lib\obj";"C:\Program Files\Borland\CBuilder5\Lib\release"


isnt that what you told me to put? I didnt change anything , I just was curious and opened them up. Do I still need to add the stuff you told me to add? And yes the lib and include directories are in the borland/cbuilder directory.

orcutt989
10-05-2005, 08:40 PM
*Bump

4play
10-05-2005, 11:42 PM
Aint got a clue what could be wrong. try http://support.borland.com/category.jspa?categoryID=37 or google for the error message you are getting. im guessing it is the ilinker32.exe thingie i got when i first installed it.

maybe search there newsgroups for help as well http://support.borland.com/entry.jspa?externalID=292

orcutt989
10-06-2005, 09:05 PM
I didnt buy the program though. :] Shouldnt it work just when you install it?

orcutt989
10-07-2005, 08:23 PM
Does anyone have a program they would recommend for creating and running C++ programs? Just simple things like Hello World, and crap like that, where you can press a button, and out will jump a dos prompt with your program running in it.