PDA

View Full Version : what am i doing wrong when burning a xvid to DVD-R



KazaaBoy
01-03-2005, 10:10 AM
I converted a Xvid to MPEG-2 file with TMPGEnc and many other conversion programes to a DVD-R and burn it but the film always ends up skipping and freezing 5-8 minutes into the film??

is there any remedy to this or am I doing something wrong? I wasted 10 DVD-R cd's and don't want to waste anymore. Can someone help me with this please!!

{I}{K}{E}
01-03-2005, 12:56 PM
use DVD-RWs ;)

http://www.dvd-guides.com/content/view/24/59/

KazaaBoy
01-03-2005, 01:43 PM
thanks, but what's the reason for it skipping?

{I}{K}{E}
01-03-2005, 01:59 PM
thanks, but what's the reason for it skipping?

maybe bad encoding or your DVD player doesnt support the brand disks you are using...

accat13
01-03-2005, 03:07 PM
could be cheap media...you can scan the disc and check to see if you have a good burn have a look at this thread http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=96285 it can be dry reading but you may be surprized at the quality differences in burning with different media,on different burners

KazaaBoy
01-03-2005, 04:53 PM
ok, this is my DVD player
http://shopping.yahoo.com/p:Sony%20DVP-PQ1%20DVD%20Player:1990967548:page=details
http://www.videohelp.com/dvdplayers.php?DVDname=dvp-pq1&Submit=Search&Search=Search&country=&orderby=Name&hits=25

I really need your help solving this one out and pin pointing the problem as I paid 50 to get it region code free and watch any movie imported from any country so I will not be buying another DVD player for a long time.

Now to the problem, I looked at the link accat13 gave me and done some tests. I have the TYG02 Taiyo Yuden DVD-R cd's. Now, I don't know if it's the encoding because the movies work fine on a normal DVD player on the PC. I don't know about the DVD-R brands but I may try DVD+R and see what happens.

Also, should I encode it with a high bitrate or a low one. I know the higher gives better quality but maybe my DVD player can't take that much bitrate or I don't know, I am going crazy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

There must be a way to fix this, anyone help!!

kazaa2002
01-03-2005, 06:16 PM
http://forums.afterdawn.com/forum_view.cfm/44

http://www.videohelp.com/forum/

in these forums you may find some answers
please try Ike's request first

it may be something as simple as turning off programs
running in the backround

the more you explain your problem the easier it is to find a solution.

accat13
01-03-2005, 09:51 PM
what kind of dvd burner are you using

KazaaBoy
01-04-2005, 02:39 AM
Sony or Nec <-- very good burner, no problems.

I am gonna try a NTSC to PAL conversion, if that doesn't help I don't know what to do.

muchspl2
01-04-2005, 04:49 AM
too bad you paid for what is free
http://www.videohelp.com/dvdhacks.php?select=Sony+DVP-PQ1
you could have made your unit multi region for free.

accat13
01-04-2005, 04:49 AM
Sony or Nec <-- very good burner, no problems.

I am gonna try a NTSC to PAL conversion, if that doesn't help I don't know what to do.
If your using the sony to burn its probably a (rebadged)liteon burner and liteon's have some trouble with dvd- disc's try the dvd+.If your drive supports it enable bitsetting.Bitsetting( http://www.google.ca/search?hl=en&q=Bitsetting&btnG=Google+Search&meta= )changes the booktype on the disc from dvd+ to dvd-rom which is read easier by standalone players...good luck

KazaaBoy
01-04-2005, 04:53 AM
tried it and it doesn't work. Needs a laptop and other stuff to get it working. To complicated and time consuming. It's hacked now for region 1-6 so I am happy.

muchspl2
01-04-2005, 04:59 AM
tried it and it doesn't work. Needs a laptop and other stuff to get it working. To complicated and time consuming. It's hacked now for region 1-6 so I am happy.

uhm no.
you need your dvd players remote and thats it, who ripped you off?
EDIT:
looks like you need a One For All 6-Way Remote to hack it, sorry.

KazaaBoy
01-05-2005, 01:14 PM
Ok I have officially gone insane with this as I cannot get the sound to sync in with the picture. I tried every guide there is and still the sound is out of sync.

I tried NTSC to PAL conversion

Xvid to DVD-R etc......


What the hell is wrong with this? why can't I get it done? I have no problems with a VCD but a DVD-R is such a pain. Anyone experience this problem or anyone that can help me or will to take time out and help me.

PLEASE................ It's a BIG nightmare.

nsane
01-05-2005, 02:56 PM
i think your just going over the bitrate limit like you said before. i recently had a similar problem when i was copying The Village, kept getting all blocky and freezing. i just encoded the audio at a lower bitrate and it works fine now ;)

KazaaBoy
01-05-2005, 03:14 PM
ok, now it's starting to make sense. So what should the bitrate for video be and for the audio? I am using TMPGEnc and encoding the audio bitrate at a very high 384kbps because the video is 5000kbps. I thought if the video bitrate is high so should the audio as well.


Or how should it be?

nsane
01-05-2005, 03:41 PM
just try lowering the audio bitrate, don't mess with the video just yet, to 320 or 256 ;)

i've never really found a reason to use a bitrate that high. a 192-224kbs VBR seems to do the job for me with no loss of quality, that i can tell :)

KazaaBoy
01-05-2005, 03:49 PM
ok doing it now at 192kbs.......

nsane
01-05-2005, 04:10 PM
i meant a 192(min)-224(max) VBR, some movies won't sound right at a CBR of 192kbs :\

I, Robot for example...i had a hard time getting the super computer's voice, VIKI, to sound right as it was all techno sounding, and was even above 224kbs. so, changing the max to 256kbs fixed it :)

also be sure to do a multipass, to make sure it doesn't go too low or high when it shouldn't ;)

Adster
01-06-2005, 12:46 AM
The reason for its skipping is because for the media plain and simple deferent answer i was smashing brick walls making coasters for a year til i realized you have to find the right media that matches your DVD player. avoid especially cheap media

Samurai
01-06-2005, 12:56 AM
too bad you paid for what is free
http://www.videohelp.com/dvdhacks.php?select=Sony+DVP-PQ1
you could have made your unit multi region for free.


and http://www.selen.org/sonydvd.html

KazaaBoy
01-07-2005, 08:00 PM
ok I am back with some results. Apparently it's what Adster said. It all comes down to DVD media and which disks are the best. The more expensive the more reliable. I bought 50 disks for 10 and they were called "BUDGET" the name matches their quality. I tried them and they just kept on skipping. I put the ones I recorded on to the side for a few days and when I tried to play them again, my DVD player said the disc was dirty. Looking at it, it was as clean as an unused one. So it all comes down to DVD media. I bought a Sony DVD-R 10 disks for 10 and they work PERFECTLY. The only problem - not relating to the disks - is I used the free software DivxToDVD by VSO-Software and it converted the movie perfectly but there was always a half a second pause on the film every second. It isn't noticeable to untrained eyes but once you pick up on it, it's very annoying and so I am back to TMPGEnc.

Oh, one more funny thing. You will like this one ;)

I walked into the store - Dixons in London - and asked the guy some questions about my problem. Here is what I said;

Question:
I have a problem with my DVD backed up movies. They skip and scramble even tho the disk is clean and my DVD player playes other movies fine. Someone suggested to me - Adster - to buy another type of media disks as it could be cheap media which can be unreliable. What DVD disks do you have?

Answer:
Do you want to buy another DVD player?


My Response:
errrrrr...... no, the movies play fine on my computer but when I back them up or convert them from Xvid to DVD-R compatible they don't play so well on my DVD player.

His response:
Maybe the movies you download are not compatible with your DVD player!!!


I am thinking, huh?????????

no no man, I want different brand of dvd disks, what do you have.

And that's when he showed me SONY.

This guy was in his middle 20's so working at Dixons, one of the UK's biggest electronic stores, should have some common knowledge of computer related hardware or software. Sometimes I think if people are really up to date with the world they live in and the job they do. The news is not enough, you have to know how to use stuff and how it works so when you run into problems you have a resolution. I am just so lucky to a part of this forum and have help from people who can teach you everything you wanna know. I am rambling on and on but you have no idea how many disks I wasted and endless nights I had to endure to find out the problem.

To all you people who responded and helped me, thank you.

P.S
I got some Template Monster templates, if you want PM me.