Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Noob Problem

  1. #1
    abu_has_the_power's Avatar I have cool stars
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,503
    1. why does my optical mouse light remain on when my comp is off?
    2. In windows xp, when i go to shup down, the standby button is hollowed out??
    3. in bios, 3rd line in bios features says 200mhz?? my comp is 2.4 ghz and 800 FSB??

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Ex-member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    5,529
    Originally posted by abu_has_the_power@11 September 2003 - 12:53
    1. why does my optical mouse light remain on when my comp is off?
    2. In windows xp, when i go to shup down, the standby button is hollowed out??
    3. in bios, 3rd line in bios features says 200mhz?? my comp is 2.4 ghz and 800 FSB??
    1. Power still goes through your motherboard when your copmuter is turned off, unless you pull teh plug. This means the mouse is still powered.

    2. You might have 'standby mode' disabled.

    3. 800MHz FSB is just a 200MHz FSB with a 4x multiplier.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    abu_has_the_power's Avatar I have cool stars
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,503
    so my comp is fine?
    and why i got power options, there is no stand by mode.
    can you open this?
    http://f2.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/abu_has_t...wer.jpg&.view=t

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Ex-member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    5,529
    Yes. If you donwload and use a tweaking program like X-Setup you'll be able to see what's going on with your Standby Mode.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    abu_has_the_power's Avatar I have cool stars
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,503
    is it xsetup.net?

    oh, nvm

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    abu_has_the_power's Avatar I have cool stars
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,503
    u think maybe my psu doesn't support stand by and hibernate?

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Ex-member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    5,529
    It's not your PSU that supports that, it's your motherboard. Any recent motherboard should have a proper ACPI system (ACPI is the system which handles power management).

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    It needs to be ACPI 1.4 compliant too. Sometimes there's a bios setting to pick the earlier version (1.1) but I can't for the life of me think why.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    abu_has_the_power's Avatar I have cool stars
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,503
    ok, i got it working now. all i needed was to install the driver for my video card

    ha ha

    anyways, if the mouse light is still on, is that using electricity?

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Originally posted by abu_has_the_power@11 September 2003 - 20:58


    anyways, if the mouse light is still on, is that using electricity?
    Unless it's running on pixie dust, yes.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •