Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: How Big Is Your Pagefile?

  1. #1
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Guatemala
    Posts
    4,097
    Hmmm my pagefile is 786,432KB

    What size is yours? Any idea if mine is too big?

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    shn's Avatar 3μ|\|(7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,585
    Originally posted by DWk@21 January 2004 - 19:26
    Hmmm my pagefile is 786,432KB

    What size is yours? Any idea if mine is too big?
    Depends on the amount of ram you have.


    Sorry about the double post.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    mine is 300mb because i find that it never gets fully used and i can free more space on my hard drive...

    i beleive that soon enough we will have enough ram to just disable the pagefile altogether then windows can run faster.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Guatemala
    Posts
    4,097
    I got 512DDR... what do you mean?

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    i set mine at i gig (1024 MB), but never seen it above 175 megs or so (usage)

    but then i dont watch it all the time either



    holy feck! you mean thats the size of the file?
    I am just a worthless liar. I am just an imbecile.
    I will only complicate you. Trust in me and fall as well.
    I will find a center in you. I will chew it up and leave.
    I will work to elevate you just enough to bring you down.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    I don't have a pagefile.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    481
    if u don't have a page file dosent it mess up ur virtual memory???

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    shn's Avatar 3μ|\|(7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,585
    Originally posted by foot loose@21 January 2004 - 20:10
    if u don't have a page file dosent it mess up ur virtual memory???
    Their the same thing, in a sense. A page file is virtual memory.

    Non-physical memory is virtual memory, and it's used by using a piece of your hard disk that's set up to emulate physical memory. This hard disk storage is a single section on the hard drive called a page or swap file.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    no it doesnt mess anything up, as long as you have enough free ram then you dont need one at all and can get a big performance boost.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    shn's Avatar 3μ|\|(7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,585
    Originally posted by ROSSCO_2004@21 January 2004 - 20:16
    no it doesnt mess anything up, as long as you have enough free ram then you dont need one at all and can get a big performance boost.
    On the contrary its best to have one. Not having one and not having enough memory can cause invalid page fault errors among other things.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •